President's Commission on the Status of Women

A Retrospective 1996-1997

Women's Commission Roster

Ms. Sandra Smith, Chair
Mervet Behery
Laurie Crino
Shawna Lloyd
Thea McCrary
Brenda Vander Mey
Jerry Waldvogel
Linda White
Ron Williams
Mable Wynn
Doris HelmsGloria Bautista (sabbatical)
Opal Hipps (sabbatical)
Cathy Sams, ex officio

Outstanding Women Awards

1997 winners:

Faculty: Judith M. Melton, Assoc. Prof. of German and Women's Studies
Staff: Elsie B. Wilson, Administrative Coordinator, Office of the President and Johnanna Rice, Custodian Services, Retired
Graduate Student: Amy Moria Donahue, Counseling and Educational Leadership in Student Affairs
Undergraduate Student: Sybil Virginia Metz, Speech and Communication and Psychology

Obtained $10,000 in Funding for the Women's Studies Department

This was used for the purchase of books on women's history and women's studies for the Cooper library.
Provided consultation to the library on the book selections.

Ongoing Efforts for Child Development Center

Research and continued discussions with facilities such as Clemson Child Development Center and Foothills Area YMCA.
Held a 1995 symposium on child development research centers at institutes of higher learning.

Continued Support to the Women's Studies Program

Provided publicity and a buffet reception to celebrate the 10th anniversary of Women's Studies.
Provided publicity and funding for Women's Studies events.