President's Commission on the Status of Women

A Retrospective 1997-1998

Women's Commission Roster

Doris Helms, Chair
Mervet Behery
Myra Cato (joined October 24)
Laurie Crino
Judy Melton
Brenda Vander Mey
Linda White
Cathy Sams, ex officio
Ashby Bodine
Opal Hipps
Mable Wynn
Thea McCrary
Jeanine Ward-Roof
Ron Williams

Outstanding Women Awards

1998 winners:

Faculty: Carol K. Bleser, Kathryn and Calhoun Lemon Distinguished Professor of U.S. History
Staff: Betty L. Newton, Curator II, Department of Geological Sciences
Graduate Student: Amy Liann Johnson, Physics and Astronomy
Undergraduate Student: Laurie Suzanne Reid, Entomology

"Just Say Know"

Co-sponsored "Just Say Know: Educating Females for the 21st Century," with guest speaker Jane Curry.

Assisted in Obtaining Funding for the Women's Studies Program

Drafted a resolution requesting $15,000 in funding for the Women's Studies Program.