Faculty Awards

Douglas W. Bradbury Award

Made possible by a gift from the Clemson Class of 1940, the Douglas W. Bradbury Award recognizes a faculty member who has made outstanding contributions to the Clemson University Honors College. Nominations may be made by senior honors students, faculty, and department chairs or other academic administrators.

How to Nominate

Nominations are initially screened by the Honors Committee of each College or, in the absence of such a committee, by an ad hoc faculty committee appointed by the Dean. In support of their candidacy, nominees are asked to submit the following materials:

  1. a brief statement acknowledging and accepting the nomination
  2. a current curriculum vitae
  3. a statement of no more than two pages summarizing the nominee's involvement in and service to the Clemson University Honors College, addressing the evaluation areas detailed below
  4. a sample honors course syllabus (if appropriate)
  5. no more than three supporting letters, at least two of which must be from honors students

Nominations, including the above materials, are due in the Deans' offices by Friday, March 12, 2021. It is the responsibility of the nominator to ensure that the nominee is informed of the need to submit these items by the stated deadline.  Each college is permitted to make up to two nominations to the Clemson University Honors College committee, which shall select the recipient of the award. Nominations remain active for three years. The nominations of the colleges are due in the Honors Office, Cribb Hall, Suite 180, by Friday, April 2, 2021.  Nominations can also be emailed to Jenny Wirtz at jwirtz@clemson.edu.


In evaluating nominees, collegiate screening committees are asked to consider factors such as:

  1. involvement in the development and teaching of Honors courses
  2. involvement as Honors thesis/project advisor
  3. service to the Honors College (e.g., departmental liaison, member of the CHCC, Honors College application reviewer, member of other Honors College committee)
  4. service to Honors students as mentor/advisor (e.g., Dixon Fellows senior fellow, EUREKA! mentor, Honors College study abroad faculty member, advisor/mentor to Honors students or organizations affiliated with the Honors College)

In making the final selection, the Honors College Committee will assess nominees in each of the above areas, giving preference to candidates who exhibit breadth and depth in their contributions to the Honors College and Honors students. Although candidates need not contribute in all areas, the strongest candidates will demonstrate exemplary contributions in more than one area. Nominees, nominators, and references are strongly encouraged to address the evaluation criteria in their materials. The committee will only consider materials and information presented in the nomination packet. If in the judgment of the Honors College Committee none of the nominees meet these criteria, no award shall be made. The presentation of the Douglas W. Bradbury Award will be made at the Clemson University Honors College Spring Awards Ceremony in May.

For more information, contact the Honors College at 864-656-4762.



The  Douglas W. Bradbury Award Recipients
Elizabeth Rivlin 2020 Department of English
Thompson Mefford 2019 Materials Science and Engineering
Neil Calkin 2018 Mathematical Sciences
Sarah Winslow 2017 Department of Sociology
Meredith A. McCarroll 2015 Department of English
Jeffrey Allen Fine 2014 Department of Political Science
Michael L. LeMahieu 2013 Department of English
Kerry S. Smith 2012 Genetics and Biochemistry
Stephen H. Wainscott 2011 Clemson University Honors College
Alfred P. "Hap" Wheeler 2010 Department of Biological Sciences
June J. Pilcher 2009 Department of Psychology
Robin M. Kowalski 2009 Department of Psychology
William R. Dougan 2008 Department of Economics
William T. Pennington 2007 Department of Chemistry
George William Koon 2005 Department of English
Frederic W. Shilstone 2004 Department of English
Brian J. Melloy 2003 Industrial Engineering
Daniel K. Benjamin 2002 Department of Economics
Pamela E. Mack 2001 Department of History
William Lasser 2000 Department of Political Science
Mechthild Cranston 1999 Department of Languages
Alma Bennett 1998 Department of English
Raymond C. Turner 1997 Physics and Astronomy
T. Ross Winkinson 1996 ADVS/Microbiology
Jessup M. Shively 1995 Biological Sciences
S. Imtiaz-UI Haque 1994 Mechanical Engineering