College of Architecture, Arts and Humanities


Undergraduate Awards

Second Year Faculty Award

This award is given to a second year undergraduate student in the School of Architecture for scholarship and for having demonstrated promise of future professional achievement.

Rudolph E. Lee Award

This award is given in memory of Rudolph E. Lee and the Class of 1902. It is awarded to an undergraduate architecture student, nominated by the faculty, having demonstrated academic excellence, participated in extra-curricular activities, and exhibited potential professional architectural ability.

Alan Thompkins Scholarship Award

When funds allow, this award is given to an undergraduate student in the second year of study in Architecture who has been selected by the faculty of the School of Architecture for having demonstrated high scholastic achievement, leadership within the community, and professional promise.

South Carolina AIA Chapter Award

This award is given to a fourth year undergraduate student in architecture who has been selected by the faculty for his or her academic achievement, highest quality of design ability, professional promise, and service.

Peter R. Lee & Kenneth J. Russo Design Award

This award is given annually to a student, in the fourth year of study, who has consistently demonstrated a search for design excellence. This award is made possible through the Architecture Class of ’76 in honor of Professor Emeriti Lee and in memory of Professor Russo.

Graduate Awards

Harlan E. McClure Award

This award is given annually by the faculty of the School of Architecture in recognition of outstanding architectural design as demonstrated in a graduate project or thesis. Candidates are selected by graduate faculty from comprehensive studio and thesis students following final reviews. 

Alpha Rho Chi Medal

This award is given annually to that graduating student who has shown outstanding leadership, performing willing service to the School, and showing promise of continued professional leadership and merit through his/her attitude and personality.

AIA Henry Adams Medal and Certificate

Each year The American Institute of Architects awards an engraved medal and certificate of merit to the top-ranking graduating student in each architecture program accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board. A certificate of merit is awarded to the second-ranking graduating student. These awards are provided as part of the AIA Scholarship Program. At Clemson, leadership, character, and promise of future professional contributions are considered in addition to academic achievement. 

Mickel Prize in Architecture

This travel award is given annually to the most outstanding graduating Master of Architecture student with the best overall design ability, overall academic ability, leadership, and professional promise. It is made possible through an endowment established by family, friends, and associates of Mr. Buck Mickel. As this is a travel award, self-nominations are accepted, together with a description of where and why the candidate would travel. At the conclusion of travel, the awardee is asked to submit a record of their travels, in the form of a sketchbook, blog, essays, and/or photographic journal.  

Endow an Award or Scholarship

Alumni and friends, please consider endowing an award or scholarship for outstanding student design work, or professional or academic leadership. 

2014 Award Winners

Second Year Faculty Award - Nicole Bronola
Rudolph E. Lee Award - Austin Ferguson
South Carolina AIA Chapter Award - Jonathan Shaffer
Peter R. Lee & Kenneth J. Russo Design Award - Jordan Grant and Tyler Silvers
Alpha Rho Chi Medal - Joel Pominville
AIA Henry Adams Medal - Kimberly Bandy
AIA Henry Adams Certificate - Adam Roark
Harlan E. McClure Individual Award - Scott Abernathy
Harlan E. McClure Team Award - Yon Moll and Tanner Sharpe
Mickel Prize in Architecture - Julie Randolph