Skip to main content

Schaffer Award

This award recognizes individuals for exceptional service on behalf of the Faculty Senate. Eligible nominees include Clemson faculty, staff, or administrators, retired Clemson University employees, community members, or other individuals as approved by the selection committee, with strong preference given to individuals who have provided direct service to the Faculty Senate. Current Faculty Senate officers are ineligible. The recipient of this award will be granted a stipend of $1,000 and recognized at the April meeting of the Faculty Senate.

The Alan Schaffer Faculty Senate Service Award commemorates the late Alan Schaffer. Dr. Schaffer served as the Head of the Department of History and as a professor of History for over thirty years. Professor Schaffer was the epitome of faculty governance and provided unstinted service to the University by serving two terms as a Faculty Senator, as a Grievance Counselor, as a member of the University Grievance Board, as Faculty Manual Editorial Consultant, and as Chair and member of various Faculty Senate Standing Committees. He served with great distinction as Faculty Senate President in 1993-1994. Dr. Schaffer’s life was characterized by service to the faculty of Clemson University. This award was created in 2006 to honor his commitment to the Faculty Service and encourages others to emulate his commitment to faculty governance.

Nominations for the Alan Schaffer Faculty Senate Service Award are due to the Faculty Senate Office March 1 each year. For full details, download the ASFSSA nomination form. The Faculty Senate President chairs the selection committee of the immediate past ASFSSA recipient, and one lead senator from a college/Library different from that of the current Faculty Senate President.

Past Award Winners

Dan Warner

2017- Daniel Warner

Dr. Daniel Warner received his Ph.D. in Mathematics from the University of California at San Diego in 1974 and is currently a professor in the Department of Mathematical Sciences at Clemson University. Dr. Warner has served on a variety of other positions specializing in computer-related activities. He was a programmer for the General Electric Corporation, a programming analyst at Arizona State University, and a computer analyst at Airesearch Corporation before he received his master's degree in 1966. He has also been a Research/Teaching Assistant and Visiting Professor at the University of California at San Diego and spent a short time working as a member of the technical staff of the Computing Mathematics Research Department at Bell Laboratories. He was named a National Science Foundation Cooperative Fellow in 1966.

In addition, he was a Lieutenant in Underwater Demolition Team Eleven for the United States Navy until 1970. While serving in the United States Navy, Dr. Warner received a U.S. Navy Commendation and U.S. Navy Achievement Awards. In 1976, Dr. Warner received the Alston S. Householder Award for Doctoral Dissertation: Hermite Interpolation with Rational Functions.

Antonis Katsiyannis, Alumni Distinguished Professor of Teacher Education and past Faculty Senate President (2014-15, Clemson University, Clemson SC

2016 - Antonis Katsiyannis

Antonis Katsiyannis, Alumni Distinguished Professor of Teacher Education and past Faculty Senate President (2014-15) was peer-elected or appointed to many leadership roles within Senate: lead senator, chair Scholastic Policies, Finance, Budget & Accountability, Ombuds sub-committee, Vice President, and chair of the Executive and Advisory Committees as President. During his time as Senate President, in particular, Antonis Katsiyannis was an advocate not only for Senate and all faculty, but also many other constituent groups during a time of great transition at Clemson, including a new University President, Provost, upper level administration, strategic plan and college reorganization.

Other recipients of the Alan Schaffer Faculty Senate Service Award include: Brett Dalton (2015), Cathy Sturkie (2014), Michelle Piekutowski (2013), Kelly Smith (2012), Beth Kunkel (2011), Holley Ulbrich (2010), Fran McGuire (2009), John Huffman (2008), Pat Smart (2007), and Alan Grubb (2006).