ACREC Faculty Participants

Dr. James C. Acton, Professor Emeritus
Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Research interests include meats and protein functionality.
Email: jcacton@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Acton's Profile

Dr. A.B. Bodine, Professor Emeritus
Department of Animal and Veterinary Sciences
Research interests include biochemistry and immunotoxicology.
Email: abodine@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Bodine's Profile

Dr. William Bridges, Jr., Professor
Department of Experimental Statistics
Research interests include experimental design and analysis.
Email: wbrdgs@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Bridges' Profile

Dr. David A. Bruce, Associate Professor
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research interests include catalysis, kinetics and molecular modeling.
Email: dbruce@clemsom.edu
Read Dr. Bruce's Profile

Dr. Feng Chen, Associate Professor
Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Research interests include food flavor chemistry, identification, isolation and application of bioactive nutraceutical compounds from natural sources.
Email: fchen@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Chen's Profile

Dr. John T. Coates, Research Associate / Associate Professor
Department of Environmental Engineering and Science
Research interests include environmental chemistry and analysis.
Email: coates@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Coates' Profile

Dr. Paul L. Dawson, Professor
Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Research interests include microbiology, lipid chemistry, flavor, and oxidation of meat products.
Email: pdawson@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Dawson's Profile

Dr. Alan W. Elzerman, Professor
Department of Environmental Engineering and Science
Director, School of the Environment
Research interests include environmental chemistry and analytical chemistry.
Email: awlzmn@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Elzerman's Profile

Dr. Richard S. Figliola, Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Research interests include fundamental fluid mechanics and heat transfer issues, biofluid mechanics, energy-based systems integration, aerodynamics.
Email: fgliola@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Figliola's Profile

Dr. James G. Goodwin, Professor and Department Chair
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research interests include heterogeneous catalysis and kinetics.
Email: jgoodwi@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Goodwin's Profile

Dr. Annel K. Greene, Professor
Department of Animal and Veterinary Sciences
Department of Biological Sciences
Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Research interests include environmental remediation and food microbiology.
Email: agreene@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Greene's Profile

Dr. Zeynep B.Guzel-Seydim, Associate Professor
Süleyman Demirel University, Isparta, Turkey
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Animal and Veterinary Sciences
Research interests include environmental remediation and food microbiology.
Email: zseydim@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Z. Guzel-Seydim's Profile

Dr. Thomas A. Hughes, Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Research interests include molecular biology including cloning, sequencing, identification and gene regulation.
Email: t020509@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Hughes' Profile

Dr. Harold D. Hupp, Professor/Extension Livestock Specialist
Department of Animal and Veterinary Sciences
Extension interests include beef cattle management, breeding and genetics, small ruminant production and management.
Email: hhupp@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Hupp's Profile

Dr. Xiuping Jiang, Associate Professor
Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Research interests include food microbiology and food safety including the control and source of food pathogens.
Email: xiuping@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Jiang's Profile

Dr. Igor Luzinov, Associate Professor
School of Material Science and Engineering
Research interests include polymer synthesis and fundamental and applied research problems in nanofabrication of thin polymer films and their utilization for multi-component polymer systems.
Email: luzinov@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Luzinov's Profile

Dr. Amod A. Ogale, Professor
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research interests include fibers, films, and nanocomposites as well as the rheology, microstructure, and processing of liquid crystalline polymers and bio-based proteins.
Email: ogale@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Ogale's Profile

Dr. Gary G. Pearl, President and Director of Technical Services Emeritus,
Fats and Proteins Research Foundation
Adjunct Professor, Department of Animal & Veterinary Sciences
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Interests include veterinary medicine, rendered animal co-products, public and animal health, animal production and biofuels.
Email: gpearl@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Pearl's Profile

Dr. Thomas R. Scott, Professor
Department of Animal and Veterinary Sciences
Department of Biological Sciences
Research interests include cellular immunology and functional immune products.
Email: trscott@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Scott's Profile

Dr. Atif Can Seydim, Assistant Professor
Süleyman Demirel University, Isparta, Turkey
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Animal and Veterinary Sciences
Research interests include food chemistry, bioactive agents and food microbiology.
Email: aseydim@clemson.edu
Read Dr. A. Seydim's Profile

Dr. Xi Wang, Research Assistant Professor
Department of Genetics and Biochemistry
Research interests include instrumental and biochemical analysis of bioactive compounds.
Email: xiw@clemson.edu
Read Dr. Wang's Profile