Top teens recognized for leadership and citizenship

By Pam Bryant

4-H Award WinnersMore than 100 young people from across South Carolina, along with 4-H county Extension agents and advisers, gathered at Clemson in July for the 48th annual State 4-H Congress to recognize a year of hard work and achievement.

This year, high school delegates ages 14-19 represented 23 counties and more than 73,000 4-H participants statewide.

“They’ve worked hard all year to demonstrate citizenship and leadership in their home communities and the State 4-H Congress gives them the chance to share what they’ve learned and be recognized for making a difference,” said 4-H state leader Pamela Ardern.

The Presidential Tray, 4-H’s highest honor, recognizes the top four Senior 4-H members who are National 4-H Congress and/or National 4-H Conference alumni and have outstanding accomplishments in 4-H leadership, citizenship, and project work. Each recipient receives a silver tray and a $1,500 educational scholarship presented by Clemson University President James Barker. This year’s winners are:

  • Ashlyn Bassett – Chester County
  • Courtney Cabaniss – Lancaster County
  • Larabeth Schurlknight – Berkeley County
  • Michael Winningham – Charleston County

Fourteen state winners received a $500 educational scholarship and a trip to the National 4-H Congress in Atlanta in November. Four delegates received a $500 educational scholarship and a trip to the National 4-H Conference in Washington, D.C., in April. The Glen Krohn Volunteer Award winners were Kay Lambert of Berkeley County and Paula Favor of Kershaw County.



For more information: Pam Ardern, 864-650-0295, or