Moving an asset to a different folder

Before an asset is moved you have to consider all of the pages that will be affected by the move. Images or links that reference the moved file will need to be re-published after changes are made. To avoid moving assets later, plan the site structure before you build your site.

When moving a folder, remember that you are moving the entire folder, so all contents will be included in the move.

Moving an asset requires two processes. Based on the asset’s publish history, please follow these directions with great caution and attention.

Asset has not been published: (or Asset has been published)

1. Navigate to the asset that will be moved (page, image, PDF, folder, etc.) by clicking on the System name in the asset tree so it is highlighted with a blue box.

2. Choose the “Move/Rename” tab from the action bar.

3. Change the “Parent folder” by clicking on the current parent folder location (i.e., psatraining/online_training/cascade_trainer).

cascade server screenshot

5. In the pop-up window, navigate to the new folder location for this asset (i.e., extension).

6. Choose “Confirm” to select the folder and return to the system region of the asset.

cascade server screenshot

7. Then select cascade server screenshot to move the asset.

8. Publish the new location folder.

Moving an asset that is published (to any server):

Assets must first be unpublished before they are moved, deleted or renamed.

1. Navigate to the asset that will be moved (page, image, PDF, folder, etc.) by clicking on the System name in the asset tree so it is highlighted with a blue box.

2. Choose the “Publish” tab from the action bar.

3. Destination: Make sure all servers are checked (even if you know you only published to the development server).

4. Select the “Unpublish” radio button (located just above the “Submit” button).

5. Choose cascade server screenshot.

If there were no errors with your asset, Cascade will give you a green (edit successful) notice.

6. Only after the file has cleared the publishing queue, complete numbers 1-7 in the previous tutorial: Moving an asset that is not published.

7. If this asset was live and needs to be republished, follow the steps to publish an asset. Also, be mindful of any associated pages or folders that the move will affect. You will need to republish any folders where you moved an asset to or from. Also, re-publish any pages that link to the file you moved (the pages on the server do not know that you made that change yet).

Read more about publishing options