Political Science

Department of Political Science

Welcome to the Department of Political Science at Clemson University. The department offers courses in American politics, comparative politics, international relations, political theory, public administration and public policy. Political Science majors have the option of earning either a Bachelor of Arts (BA) or a Bachelor of Science (BS) degree. Our courses foster original research and critical thinking through student participation and intensive faculty-student interactions.

Political Science graduates have carved out successful careers working for major law firms; federal, state and local governments; various media outlets; businesses ranging from banking to real estate; nonprofit organizations; and political campaigns and organizations. Many of our alumni have attended leading graduate and law programs at universities including Harvard, Duke and Virginia.

Our faculty bring a wide range of scholarly expertise and methodological training to the classroom. They share a commitment to the pursuit of knowledge through both research and teaching. Frequently on call by the press, faculty members have been quoted in a host of media outlets, and several have practical political experience, serving as diplomats, advisors to governors and strategists for congressional and gubernatorial campaigns.

For more information regarding the Department of Political Science at Clemson University, please contact us at polisci@clemson.edu. To contact the department chair (Jeffrey Peake), please email jpeake@clemson.edu or call 864-656-4653.


More › | Subscribe

More news ›