Skip to Content


Undergraduate Faculty Awards Spring 2019
Our School celebrated the achievements of our top undergraduate students at our annual Undergraduate Faculty Awards Ceremony on April 13. Click here for a list of incredible students we honored.

Clemson RTG REU NSF Research Training Groupsmath professors team up to strengthen the nation’s scientific competitiveness
The NSF Research Training Groups (RTG) grant awarded to Jim Brown, Shuhong Gao, Kevin James, Felice Manganiello and Gretchen Matthews in 2016 has been supporting efforts to improve research training by involving undergraduate students, graduate students, postdoctoral associates and faculty members in structured research groups centered on a common research theme of Coding Theory, Cryptography and Number Theory. Read more about some recent program highlights here.

Seed grant to establish Southeast Center for Mathematics and Biology
In a collaboration with faculty from six other universities, Clemson University mathematician Elena Dimitrova has been awarded a $578,235 seed grant to participate in establishing the Southeastern Center for Mathematics and Biology. Read more about the center and Dr. Dimitrova's research

AWM Group visits Asheville NCClemson student group visits UNC Asheville to hear ‘Hidden Figures’ inspirational speaker
Clemson's chapter of the Association for Women in Mathematics recently traveled to Asheville to hear Dr. Christine Darden speak about her time at NASA and the 'Hidden Figures' movie. Read more about the trip

2017 Awards Clemson Team wins Math Jeopardy CompetitionClemson Team wins Math Jeopardy Competition
Congratulations to Clemson students Trevor Squires, Luna Bozeman, Joey Bonitati, and Biraj Dahal. Their team won the math jeopardy contest at the MAA-SE Conference recently held in Clemson.

2017 Awards - Lea JenkinsClemson mathematician's research featured at national exhibition in Washington
In a ceremony in April, the department recognized outstanding mathematical sciences students and their achievements. Lea Jenkins, an associate professor, has spent the past six-plus years collaborating with an expanding team of hydrologists, economists and related experts to develop high-tech models designed to help farmers maximize profits while minimizing the deleterious effects of drought, fluctuations in supply and demand, and rising operating expenses. Click here to read more

2017 Math Sciences Awards2017 Math Sciences Awards
In a ceremony in April, the department recognized outstanding mathematical sciences students and their achievements.
Click here to see a list of this year's award recipients.

Professors talk to students about the RTG GrantClemson Math Professors Awarded $2.1 Million Data Security Research Grant
The National Science Foundation (NSF) grant was awarded to the team of Kevin James, Jim Brown, Shuhong Gao, Felice Manganiello and Gretchen Matthews. The grant will support researchers and students in the fields of computer coding theory, number theory, and cloud data security.
Read the full article

Fit RunThird Annual Clemson 5K Fit Run
Congratulations to the Mathematical Sciences 5K Running Team, who won the Third Annual Clemson 5K Fit Run on Saturday, October 22, 2016 at the South Carolina Botanical Gardens!
Front Row Left to Right: Sarah Hicklin, Hugh Geller, Michael Black
Back Row Left to Right: Allen Guest, Mark Cawood, Martin Schmoll

Julia SharpSharp named Greenville Hospital System Faculty Fellow
Julia Sharp, an associate professor of mathematical sciences at Clemson University, is the latest Greenville Health System Faculty Fellow. Sharp brings her statistical expertise to GHS departments, such as obstetrics and gynecology, anesthesiology, and pediatrics. Within these departments, she will assist in aggregating and analyzing collected data, in order to help examine patient outcomes after treatment.
Read the full article

Associate Professor Lea Jenkins speaks at SAMSIJenkins speaks at SAMSI Workshop
Associate Professor Lea Jenkins (pictured middle) recently co-organized and helped lead the April 2016 SAMSI "Workshop for Women in Math Sciences". SAMSI is the Statistical and Applied Mathematical Sciences Institute. More information about the workshop can be found at their blog post.

mcm-icm Mathematical or Interdisciplinary Competition in ModelingMCM/ICM
In February 2016, over 12,000 teams from 13 countries competed in the grueling 96-hour Mathematical or Interdisciplinary Competition in Modeling (MCM/ICM). The three-person ICM team of Clemson math majors Ben Bodek, Rivers Jenkins, and James McNally won an honorable mention for their model and analysis of the refugee immigration crisis and policies.

2016 Student Award Winners2016 Student Awards
In a ceremony in April, the department recognized outstanding mathematical sciences students and their achievements. Click here to see a list of the award recipients.

Neil CalkinNeil Calkin Elected to Lead Role in Faculty Senate
Neil Calkin was elected secretary of the Faculty Senate for its 2016-17 term during the March 7 Faculty Senate meeting. The mathematical sciences professor joined Clemson in 1997. In his three years on the senate Calkin said that he enjoyed being part of the conversation and bringing issues to the forefront. Calkin plans to work closely with Faculty Senate leadership to address issues such as the status of special faculty, Clemson's college reorganization and the University's planned childcare center.

Jim Peterson bookSpringer publishes book by faculty member Dr. Jim Peterson
This is the first in a series of four books that developed from Peterson's experiences teaching calculus to biology majors. The first three books are titled "Calculus for Cognitive Scientists," and the fourth book is titled "Bioinformation Processing."

Joint Mathematics Meeting logo2016 Joint Mathematics Meeting
Twenty students and faculty members of the Department of Mathematical Sciences (three undergraduate students, eleven graduate students, and six faculty members), plus several alumni, attended the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Seattle in January. JMM 2017 (January 4-7) will be in Atlanta.

Timo Heister and Leo Rebholz write low cost textbook for numerical methods course
The Greenville News published an article on an initiative to lower textbook costs featuring two of our faculty members. PDF Link