Office of Creative Services

Honors, awards, & recognition

Tiger TeamsTigers team up for student affairs

Graduate students majoring in student affairs are teaming up with new and seasoned Clemson alumni professionals for mutual opportunities. Students make connections and learn what's happening outside the classroom, while alumni stay up on the latest trends in education. The program, called Tiger Teams, started with Chi Sigma Alpha (student affairs honorary organization in Clemson's Eugene T. Moore School of Education) and already has 24 teams — each with two graduate students and two alumni (one a new student affairs professional and the other a seasoned one). Pictured are student Jay Hinner, Amber Mulkey M '07, student Lauren Layton and Brian Stuart M '06. For more information, contact Pam Havice at


Deborah ThomasonDeborah Thomason installed as Epsilon Sigma Phi national president

Dr. Deborah Thomason was recently installed as ESP National President for 2010-2011 at the recent national meeting in Wyoming. Epsilon Sigma Phi (ESP) is dedicated to fostering standards of excellence in the Extension System and developing the Extension profession and professional. It is the organization that brings educators, scientists and support staff together to address issues of Extension professionalism. Over 3,200 Extension professionals maintain annual membership in ESP. In addition, ESP offers to the Extension System the benefit of support from over 3,500 retirees who maintain life membership in ESP in order to support other Extension professionals through contributions of money and service. Epsilon Sigma Phi has a national operation to ensure that its educational opportunities are common to all Extension professionals across the nation. In addition there are 44 autonomously operated statewide/territory wide chapters in 46 states and two territories. Each of these chapters contributes to the overall mission of the organization but operate independently. Epsilon Sigma Phi is committed to moving the Extension profession toward becoming a respectful culturally inclusive educational system in response to the changing face of the nation and the awareness of the added richness, creativity, and resilience that cultural diversity brings to our communities and our Extension programs. Dr. Thomason, will also serve a three year term as a member of the Joint Council of Extension Professionals (JCEP) which is a partnership of professional Extension organizations that focuses on strengthening the efforts of the member organizations and does what each cannot do individually. JCEP is composed of the president, past-president and president-elect of the member associations, a representative from the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU), a representative of the Extension Committee on Organization and Policy (ECOP), and a representative of the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) -- U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). JCEP is the Federal voice for the Extension profession and a partnership of Extension professional associations.


Nancy PorterNancy Porter receives the Mary Ellen Edmondson Financial Educator of the Year Award

Dr. Nancy Porter received the Mary Ellen Edmondson Financial Educator of the Year Award from the Association of Financial Counseling and Planning Education in Denver, Colorado at the 2010 Association for Financial Counseling and Planning Education. Dr. Porter will retire from Clemson in December after twenty years and will begin as a Financial Resource Management Specialist with Colorado State University in January. We wish Nancy and her husband, Tom all the best in the new chapter of their lives!


Richard Lacher and Teresa TuckerPRTM student making their marks

Richard “Geoff” Lacher is the recipient of the 2010 NTA Luray Caverns Graduate Research Scholarship awarded by Tourism Cares, a nonprofit organization dedicated to preserving the travel experience for future generations. Each year the prestigious scholarship is presented to a deserving travel, tourism and hospitality student from across the United States and Canada. Lacher is pursuing a Ph.D. in PRTM with an emphasis on tourism resource development. For more information, see
Teresa W. Tucker (PhD, 2010) is the 2011 recipient of the American Camp Association's Marge Scanlin Research Award. This award is given annually “in recognition of completed research efforts that result in originality, innovation, and significant contribution to the advancement of the body of knowledge concerning the camp experience.” Teresa’s study titled “‘First we crawled, then we walked, now we want to run”: An examination of transition processes used by inclusive camps”’ examined components that facilitated the inclusion of campers with disabilities into camp programs. She will receive formal recognition of this award at the 2011 National American Camp Association conference in February 2011. For more information, see


Adam BeecoAdam Beeco receives scholarship to the America Alpine Institute

Congratulations to Adam Beeco as a scholarship recipient for an American Alpine Institute Mountaineering and Technical Leadership Course held in North Cascades, WA next Spring. The American Alpine Institute was founded in 1975 and since then has been dedicated to helping climbers raise their skills, protect the environments in which they climb, develop good judgment, and safely gain access to the great mountains of the world. Though the Institute is especially well known for its advanced training and expeditions, its international reputation is based on its dedication to teaching (at all skill levels from beginners’ to masters’ levels), its high level of customer service, the outstanding skills of its staff, and its public service in the areas of environmental protection and public lands policy.


Matt BrownleeMatt Brownlee named Hartzog Fellow

Matt Brownlee earned a Bachelor’s of Science in Outdoor Education from Northland College, Ashland, Wisconsin, and a Masters in Administration from Aurora University, Aurora, Illinois. He currently is a Ph.D. candidate in Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management at Clemson University. In May of 2010, Matt was awarded a Hartzog Fellowship from the George B. Jr. and Helen C. Hartzog Institute for Parks. The support from the institute has allowed Matt to continue innovative research in U.S. National Parks and other nature-based recreation areas. Specifically, his research focuses on park visitors and nature-based recreationists, and their interactions with climate influenced environments. He investigates how these interactions help managers and researchers understand perceptions of climate change and attitudes towards climate change mitigation behaviors. This last summer Matt collected dissertation data at Kenai Fjords National Park in Alaska, and locally in the upstate of South Carolina at Lake Hartwell. During this upcoming summer, Matt will finish dissertation collection on the South Carolina coast investigating marine recreationists’ attitudes towards offshore windpower development. Matt has consistently indicated that the support from the Hartzog Institute has provided valuable opportunities and has allowed him to continue the legacies of George B. Jr. and Helen C. Hartzog. In addition, Matt serves as the Secretary of the Board of Directors of the Hartzog Institute.


Student Affairs student earns national award

Beth Burgess, first year masters student in Counselor Education Student Affairs, has been selected as one of the annual conference scholarship recipients for the 2011 South Carolina Women in Higher Education Conference.