Skip to content
Clemson University Campus
LGBTQ Commission

Minutes and By-Laws


  • I. Purpose

    The purpose of a Clemson University Lesbian, Gay Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) Task Force is to serve in an advisory capacity to the university administrators, faculty, staff, and students regarding matters which affect the LGBTQ people. More specifically, the objectives of the Task Force are as follows in Article II.

  • II. Objectives
    • To create a welcoming environment that supports both inclusion and diversity.
    • To make recommendations regarding the policies, procedures, and practices which affect the LGBTQ campus community, with the goal of improving access and opportunities.
    • To insure that the university appropriately addresses issues of safety and welfare of LGBTQ faculty, staff, students, and guests.
    • To advise the university administration, faculty, and staff on matters pertaining to the LGBTQ campus community.
    • To establish and maintain strong collaborative partnerships with organizations and entities which support the purpose, mission and vision of the LGBTQ Task Force and the University such as the Clemson Alumni Society for Equality (CASE), Clemson Gay-Straight Alliance (CGSA), etc.
  • III. Expectations of Task Force Members

    The LGBTQ Task Force members are expected to:

    • Attend regular meetings, which are scheduled by the Task Force chair.
    • Formulate and actively participate on established Task Force subcommittees.
      • A minimum of four meetings will be scheduled annually. An agenda will be established prior to each meeting. Minutes will be recorded and distributed to each Task Force member.
  • IV. Nominating Committee

    Nominating Committee members are expected to:

    • Nominate Task Force members each spring.
    • Recommend Task Force appointments to the University President for his/her consideration and approval.
    • Prepare a list of persons for possible appointment to membership on the LBGTQ Task Force. This list will be submitted to the Task Force by March 1 each year and once approved or modified by the Task Force the list must be submitted to the university president by April 1st each year.
    • All nominations must be supported by a 2/3 majority of the existing Task Force members before the names are sent to the president.
    • One and two year terms will be recommended to the President.
    • The Task Force will elect a chairperson from the members appointed to the Task Force.
    • The nominating committee will be elected by the Task Force and will consist of a minimum of three members and a maximum of five Task Force members.
    • Nominations from the floor will be accepted. Only Task Force members will be authorized to vote.
  • V. Membership

    The membership of the Task Force shall be comprised of 3 undergraduate students, 3 graduate students, 3 faculty, 3 staff, and two administrators, all appointed by the President of the university. The Faculty Senate, Staff Senate, Undergraduate student government association, and graduate student government association shall each nominate a representative to be appointed by the President to serve as a member on the LGBTQ Task Force.

    Membership will be limited to members of the university who are in good standing with the university.

    The membership will elect the following officers from among the members: A chairperson, a chair-elect, and a secretary.

  • VI. Officers

    The Chair shall be the presiding officer of the LGBTQ Task Force. The Chair shall preside over all meetings; have general and active management of the business of the Task Force; be responsible for carrying out all decisions and resolutions of the Task Force; and initiate communication or respond to inquiries from the president or other officials.

    The Chair-Elect shall succeed to the position of the chairperson at the conclusion of the Chair’s term of office. The Chair-Elect shall assume the duties and authorities of the Chair when the Chair is absent. In the event that the Chair resigns or is unable to serve the Chair-Elect assumes the role of the Chair. An interim Chair-Elect shall be selected to serve the remainder of the Chair-Elect’s term by a vote of the Task Force members.

    The Chairperson of the LGBTQ Task Force shall retain a secretary to keep the official roll at all meetings of the Task Force to determine whether a quorum exists; to prepare and publish notices, agendas, minutes and perform other related duties.

  • VII. Committees

    Initially, the Task Force will have four standing committees. They are:

    1. Communications and Outreach - This committee will plan activities, programs and marketing to keep the campus community informed and aware of important events and activities. This committee will also strive to enhance the campus climate through educational activities and dialogue.
    2. Welfare Committee - This committee will advise Task Force members on matters that pertain to policies, practices, benefit opportunities, and the status of the LGBTQ community on the campus.
    3. Safety and Security - This committee will monitor the safety of the LGBTQ community on campus and in the community, and make recommendations for improvement to the appropriate officials.
    4. Nominating Committee - This committee will nominate a slate of members to serve on the Task Force each year upon final approval by the president of the university.

    Each committee shall have a chairperson who is elected by the LGBTQ Task Force annually. The chairperson must be a member of the LGBTQ Task Force in order to be eligible to serve as a committee chairperson.

  • VIII. Amendments

    The bylaws may be amended at any regular Task Force meeting where there is a quorum. Two thirds of the members present are required to approve an amendment to the bylaws.

  • IX. Standing Rules
    • All meetings are normally open unless the Task Force goes into an executive session.
    • Any non-member may request the privilege of speaking before the Task Force on any item or topic not already on the meeting agenda.
    • Upon the approval of the chair, a non-member may also speak on any item on the agenda.
    • he chair shall have the authority to place a time limit on the remarks of any participant of a Task Force meeting.