4-H Youth Development

Four children smilingClemson Extension agents with primary Youth Development responsibilities work closely with state extension specialists and researchers located on campus and at the various research and education centers located across the state. They provide expertise in topics including animal agriculture and veterinary science, natural resources and the environment, gardening, leadership and citizenship, personal growth and development, and science, engineering and technology.

Want to be a part of a SOAP Box Derby?  Find out more....Soap Box Racer

Check out  Local 4H winners in the news!

Read the latest 4H regional newsletter, the Clover Connection.

Local Agent

Leona Parr, 4-H Agent, 803-359-8515 ext 124 (Lexington Office) or 803-865-1216 ext 116 (Richland Office) leona@clemson.edu

Programs Offered

See this Pamphlet of all  4-H programs being offered in the county.

Upcoming Events

September 1st—start of the new 4H year

September 5-27th—Soap Box Derby Workshops

October 18th – 4H Day at the State Fair

http://www.clemson.edu/extension/4h/calendar.html

Opportunities

4-H Youth Development: Investing in South Carolina’s Future
4-H is a community of young people across America who are learning leadership, citizenship, and life skills. The South Carolina 4-H Youth Development Program uses a learn-by-doing approach, the involvement of caring adults, and the knowledge and resources of Clemson University and the land grant university system to empower youth to become healthy, productive, and contributing members of society.

Lexington County 4H Clubs

Horse Clubs:

  1. Spring Hill Equestrian Club        Lori Mooney         4moonsfarm@gmail.com
  2. Chapin Ride with Pride      Sandy House        thehouses@yahoo.com     Theresa Crossland   tlcrossland@live.com
  3. Lexington Boot Stompers           Natasha Williams   chrislynwilliams@aim.com
  4. Country Springs 4H Horse Club  Shelby Warren      Swarren095@gmail.com

In/After School Clubs:

  1. Carolina Springs 4H Club          Lia Freeman        The5freemans@hotmail.com
  2. Red Bank Elementary 4H Club  Lana Thomas       Lana_f_thomas@yahoo.com
  3. White Knoll High School 4H Club  David Pelley     Dpelley@lexington1.net

General 4H Clubs:

          Gilbert Community Club    Deanna Fulmer  Gilbert4h@live.com     Kim Williamson kwilliamson@lexington1.net

Livestock/Other Animal Clubs:

          Rompin Rabbits and Cuddley Cavies    Debra Dolph   amathamdir@gmail.com

Science Clubs:

  1. Cool Kids Cloverbuds           Lia Freeman             The5freemans@hotmail.com
  2. Garnet Squadron 4H Club    Billfred Levertte        william@billfredindustries.com

Visit the state-wide 4-H website.