Intercultural Development Inventory

IDI_Logo.JPG

Overview

ClemsonFORWARD, the 10-year strategic plan for Clemson University, seeks to strengthen the sense of community and connectedness by enhancing diversity, creating an environment of inclusive excellence, and providing professional and leadership development opportunities to make Clemson a great place to work, study, and live.

To help Clemson University achieve its strategic goals, an instrument called the Intercultural Development Inventory can be used to assess intercultural competence, create self and/or group awareness, and provide an individualized plan for growth and advancement.

Intercultural Development Inventory

The Intercultural Development Inventory (IDI) is a psychometric instrument that assesses intercultural competence – the capability to shift cultural perspective and appropriately adapt behavior to cultural differences and commonalities. This 50-item questionnaire is available in 17 languages, it can be accessed online, and takes approximately 15-20 minutes to complete. After taking the assessment, IDI generates an Individual Profile Report that outlines the individual’s capacity to shift perspectives and appropriately adapt behaviors and an Individual Development Plan (IDP) – a detailed blueprint for the individual to further develop their cultural competence.

The IDI also generates group intercultural competence profiles. Group profiles are used to assess a department or organization’s intercultural competence as an aggregate. The group profile results allow the department or organization to identify cross-cultural goals and challenges and develop adaptive strategies that can be used while working with individuals from diverse backgrounds.

What are the steps in taking the IDI?

  1. Send an email to idicu@clemson.edu to schedule an appointment to discuss goals and plans related to the use of the IDI
  2. Take the Intercultural Development Inventory (takes about 15-20 minutes)
  3. Schedule a session to interpret the results

Costs associated with taking the IDI at Clemson

  1. Each test ordered by an educational institution is $12/student and $18/staff or faculty.
  2. There is no cost for having a Qualified Administrator come and deliver your individual and/or group profile results

Current Qualified Administrators

Roxanne Amerson, Nursing, roxanna@clemson.edu 
Jason Combs, College Preparation and Outreach, jsingle@clemson.edu
Jodi Cox, The Graduate School, jodi2@clemson.edu 
Sarah Dumas, Student Transition & Family Programs, dumas@clemson.edu 
Ciera Durden, Gantt Multicultural Center, cierad@clemson.edu 
Cherese Fine, Charles H. Houston Center, cfine@clemson.edu 
Matt Floyd, Human Resources, mwfloyd@clemson.edu 
Jacob Frankovich, Gantt Multicultural Center, frankov@clemson.edu
Amy Gamble, Residential Learning, acg@clemson.edu 
Jerad Green, Gantt Multicultural Center, jeradg@clemson.edu
Jaz Hamilton, Human Resources, tammih@clemson.edu 
Leah Hughes, College of Business, leahh@clemson.edu 
Moryah Jackson, Inclusion and Equity, moryahj@clemson.edu 
Matthew Kirk, College Preparation and Outreach, mjkirk@clemson.edu
Cindy Lee, Engineering & Science Education, lc@clemson.edu 
Jessica Owens, Academic Success Center, dean4@clemson.edu 
Gabriela Peschiera, College of Business, gpeschi@clemson.edu
Altheia Richardson, Inclusion and Equity, lalthei@clemson.edu 
Alesia Smith, Inclusion and Equity, alesias@clemson.edu
Daniel Solomon, Global Engagement, solomo9@clemson.edu 
Helen Diamond Steele, College of Business, hsteele@clemson.edu 
Beth Stephan, General Engineering, bethste@clemson.edu 
Kendra Stewart-Tillman, Gantt Multicultural Center, stewar5@clemson.edu
Sallie Turnbull, Global Engagement, sbromby@clemson.edu

Interested in becoming a Qualified Administrator?

For information on cost and how to register to become an IDI Qualified Administrator, please contact idicu@clemson.edu.