Outstanding Women Awards and Distinguished Contributor Awards

The President's Commission on the Status of Women annually honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to improve the status of women.

Categories for Outstanding Women include academic faculty, staff, graduate student and undergraduate student. The Distinguished Contributor category may include male or female alumni, senior administrators, staff, non-academic faculty, major gift donors and other individuals who have made a significant contribution to improving the status of women.

2019 Award Winners

Outstanding Women Award Recipients pose for a photo together

Left to right: MarRaghed Al Dahabi (Undergrad), Margaret Elderidge (Distinguished Contributor) Francesca Shaw (Thea McCrary), President Clements, Heidi Zenzow (Faculty), Shannon Stefl (Graduate), Marion Robinson (Staff), & Tina White (Chair, Women’s Commission)

Nominees will be considered on the following criteria:

  • Professional achievement within category
  • Service as a role model within the University
  • Service as a role model outside the University
  • Performance in "unique" circumstances of merit
  • Efforts to promote the status of women