Skip to main content

Clemson University English Language Proficiency Exemptions

As a general rule, if you have received a degree from one of the countries or institutions listed on this page, you may contact the Office of Graduate Admissions to request an English language proficiency exemption. We reserve the right to require demonstration of English proficiency, even if you have received your degree from one of the following countries or institutions.

Exempt Countries

Clemson University recognizes English as the official language of instruction in the countries listed below. Applicants with qualifications from these countries are exempt from the Clemson University Graduate School English language proficiency requirement.

American Samoa Gibraltar South Africa
Anguilla Grenada South Pacific Islands
Antigua & Barbuda Guam St Helena
Australia Guyana St Kitts & Nevis
Bahamas Ireland (Republic of) St Lucia
Barbados Ireland (Northern) St Vincent & the Grenadines
Belize Jamaica Scotland
Bermuda Malta Trinidad & Tobago
Canada* Mauritius Turks & Caicos Islands
Cayman Islands Montserrat United Kingdom
Dominica New Zealand USA
England Ryuku Islands Virgin Islands
Falklands Seychelles Wales
Fiji Singapore

*Admissions must check schools in Quebec province. Some universities instruct in French.

Exempt Institutions

Applicants with qualifications from the following institutions in the designated countries are exempt from the Clemson University Graduate School English language proficiency requirement.

  • University of Botswana
  • American University in Bulgaria
  • University of Asmara
  • Addis Ababa University
  • Haramarya University
  • Jimma University
  • American University in Cairo
  • International University
  • Jacob’s University
  • Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
  • University of Cape Coast
  • University of Ghana
Hong Kong
  • City University of Hong Kong
  • Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Hong Kong University of Science & Technology
  • University of Hong Kong
  • Catholic University of Eastern Africa
  • Egerton University
  • Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture & Technology
  • Kenyatta University
  • Maseno University
  • Moi University
  • University of Eastern Africa – Baraton
  • University of Nairobi
  • Lebanese American University
  • American University of Beirut
  • National University of Lesotho
  • University of Malawi
  • University of Namibia
  • Abia State University
  • Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University
  • Ahmadu Bello University
  • Ambrose Alli University
  • American University of Nigeria
  • Bayero University
  • Delta State University
  • Enugu State University of Science & Technology
  • Federal University of Technology, Akure, Minna, Owerri, Yola
  • Igbindedion University
  • Ladoke Akintoal University of Technology
  • Lagos State University
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University
  • Obafemi Awolowo University
  • Ogun State University
  • Ondo State University
  • Rivers State University of Science & Technology
  • University of Abuja, Ado-Ekiti, Abeokuta, Makurdi, Benin, Calabar, Ibadan, Ilorin, Jos, Lagos, Maiduguri, Nigeria, Port Harcourt, Uyo
Papua New Guinea
  • Papua New Guinea University of Technology
  • University of Goroka
  • University of Papua New Guinea
  • Adamson University
  • Far Eastern University
  • Mindanao State University
  • National University
  • Silliman University
  • University of Negros Occidental – Recoletos
  • University of San Carlos
  • Xavier University
  • University of the South Pacific
Sierra Leone
  • University of Sierra Leone
  • Mzumbe University
  • Sokoine University of Agriculture
  • University of Dar es Salaam
  • Makerere University
  • Mbarara University of Science & Technology
  • American University of Sharjah
  • Copperbelt University
  • University of Zambia
  • National University of Science & Technology
  • University of Zimbabwe
  • Zimbabwe Open University