Skip to content

Office of the President

President's Leadership Institute Cohort

How Cohorts are Chosen

Who Can Participate?

Each cohort of the President’s Leadership Institute (PLI) comprises 25 faculty and staff members from across the University who demonstrate exceptional performance in their respective areas. Faculty are nominated by the college deans and/or the Provost; staff members are nominated by the University vice presidents or corresponding divisional heads or senior administrators of the non-academic units of the University. A selection committee reviews the nominations for the final cohort.

Annual nominations for the cohort will be solicited in April.

PLI retreat summer 2022

What Can I Expect?

During the nine-month program, the cohort meets once a month for an all-day session.

Meetings take place at various locations on campus or in Greenville, Charleston or Columbia.

Program participants should expect meetings to encompass elements of critical thinking, problem-solving, self-analysis, exposure to new ideas, rigorous and healthy discussion on a myriad of topics, and high levels of fellowship and interaction with fellow classmates.

Potential topics include:

  • Clemson's history and character (land-grant, mission, governance model)
  • Clemson University as a business: what it takes to run a university and meet the needs of our constituents (finance, facilities, infrastructure)
  • Personal leadership skills/team building/leadership styles
  • Clemson's impact across South Carolina (Greenville, Columbia, Charleston, public service activities)
  • Conflict resolution
  • Diversity and inclusion
  • Governmental relations and external relations
  • Opportunities and challenges in higher education
  • Athletics
  • Strategic planning and university priorities

Members of 2022 Cohort

  • Fadi Abdeljawad, Dean’s Assistant Professor, CECAS/Department of Engineering and Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Morgan Allen, Director of Academic Services for Enterprise Applications, CCIT
  • Bill Baldwin, Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator, College of Science/Department of Biological Sciences
  • Kyle Barrett, Associate Professor of Wildlife Conservation, CAFLS/Department of Forestry and Environmental Conservation
  • Savannah Bock, Business Officer, College of Education
  • Lisa Claxton, Senior Associate General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel
  • Kelly Collins, Chief of Staff and Operations, CECAS
  • Shelia Cotten, Provost’s Distinguished Professor and Associate Vice President for Research Development, Office of Research Development
  • Khristy Glover, Accountant/Fiscal Analyst III, PSA/Regulatory Services
  • Sara Hanks, Director of the Emerging Scholars program, Division of Inclusion and Equity/Office of Preparation and Outreach
  • Katie Hildebrand, Director of the Erwin Center for Brand Communications, Wilbur O. and Anne Powers College of Business
  • Kevin James, Professor and Director, School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, College of Science
  • Ale Kennedy, Chief Human Resources Officer for Clemson University
  • David Kuskowski, Vice President for Enrollment Management, Offices in Enrollment Management
  • Jason Lucas, Associate Professor, CAAH/Nieri Family Department of Construction
  • Science and Management
  • Dana Morgan, Associate Executive Director of Marketing and Special Initiatives, Clemson Alumni Association
  • Corliss Outley, Professor and Director of the Race, Ethnicity, Youth & Social Equity (REYSE) Collaboratory, PRTM
  • Noelle Paufler, Assistant Professor and Program Coordinator for the Doctor of Education (EdD) in Education Systems Improvement Science, College of Education
  • Lesslie Pekarek, Medical Director for Student Health Services, Division of Student Affairs
  • Harrison Pinckney IV, Assistant Professor and Associate Director of the Race, Ethnicity, Youth and Social Equity (REYSE) Collaboratory, PRTM
  • Amanda Richardson, Associate Athletic Director of Compliance, Athletic Compliance Office
  • Philip Sikes, Communications Director, Division of University Relations/Division of Student Affairs
  • Chad Sosolik, Professor and Undergraduate Program Coordinator, College of Science/Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Deveraux Williams, IT & Training Manager, Division of University Relations
  • Cairen Withington, Director of Program Review and Effectiveness, Graduate School