Recognition and Awards

Faculty Awards

Clemson University recognizes significant contributions by faculty members through a variety of honors, awards and recognintions.

Office of the Provost Awards

  • Ralph D. Elliott Endowed Award

    Ralph D. Elliott PlaqueThe purpose of this award is to recognize and honor a Clemson University faculty, staff, and/or administrator who has promoted initiatives in the field of credit or noncredit continuing education in a worthy and exemplary manner. The award will be presented to the recipient by the Provost on behalf of the President of Clemson University at the University Awards Ceremony in May. In addition to a cash stipend, the recipient’s name will be affixed to a permanently displayed plaque in the Clemson University Madren Center.

    The nomination form is available below. Completed nomination packets should be sent to the Office of the Provost, 206 Sikes Hall. Nominations are accepted throughout the year.

    Ralph D. Elliott Endowed Award Nomination Form

    Ralph D. Elliott Award Recipients

    Gail DePriest

    Not Awarded

    Melissa Lockhart

    Randy Collins

    Witt Salley

    Rosanne Pruitt

    Elham Makram

    Anand Gramopadhye

    Barbara Speziale

    Barbara Hoskins

    Lienne Medford Federico


  • Thomas Green Clemson Award

    Thomas Green ClemsonThis award was established by the Office of the Provost in 1999 to honor outstanding faculty and staff who have made significant contributions to academic life at Clemson. Nominations are confidential, and nominees should not be apprised of their nomination. Priority will be given to nominees who have not previously received Clemson University-wide awards. The award includes $5,000 to be evenly divided between the recipient and the Clemson University Libraries. Recipients of the award also receive a plaque, and their names are added to the perpetual Thomas Green Clemson Award for Excellence plaque, which is on permanent display in the lobby of the R.M. Cooper Library. The monies donated to the Libraries will be used to purchase new materials to be added to the Libraries' collection, and these purchases will include a personalized donor plate honoring the award recipient.

    The nomination form is available below. Completed nomination packets should be sent to the Office of the Provost, 206 Sikes Hall. Nominations are accepted throughout the year.

    The Thomas Green Clemson Award for Excellence Nomination Form

    Thomas Green Clemson Award Recipients

    Ronald Chrestman
    , (staff)
    Cynthia Haynes, (faculty)

    Kim Arp
    , Director of Development for the College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences

    Marvin Dixon
    , Parking Operations Manager
    Sherrill Biggers, Associate Chair and Undergraduate Coordinator of Mechanical Engineering in the College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences

    Robert Brookover, Senior Lecturer, Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
    Karon Donald, Program Director of the Staff Senate

    Elham B. Makram, Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Verna Howell, Associate Vice President of Student Affairs

    Sandy Edge, Department of Management
    Robert Horton, Professor, Secondary Mathematics Education

    Jack McKenzie, Advancement
    Robert Lippert, Associate Professor of Soil Sciences and statewide Hispanic 4-H coordinator

    Michael Coggeshall, Professor of Sociology and Anthropology
    Elizabeth Crockett, Student Services Program Coordinator and Adviser in Engineering and Science

    Barbara S. Rogers, Administrative Coordinator, Office of Undergraduate Studies
    Elizabeth Carney, Professor, Department of History

    John T Warner, Professor of Economics
    Carla Rathbone, Executive Director of Customer Relations and Learning Technologies

    Mike Vatalaro, Chairman of the Art Department
    Elizabeth Milam Lomas, Associate Director of Financial Aid

    Nancy Leininger, Senior Lecturer in Graphic Communications
    JoVanna King, Senior Director of Gift and Estate Planning

    Linda K. Cocke, Student Services Program Coordinator, Mechanical Engineering
    Dr. Jerome V. Reel Jr., Senior Vice Provost and University Historian, Office of Undergraduate Studies

    Stanley B. Smith, University Registrar, Records/Registration
    Charlie R. White, Director of the Outdoor Laboratory, Department of PRTM

    Mark Charney, Interim Chair and Professor, Department of English
    Ronald T. Herrin, Director of Payroll and Benefits, Human Resources

    W. Kirby Player, Coordinator of Alumni and Student Services, College of Agriculture, Forestry & Life Sciences
    Lois P. Sill, Life Sciences and Agriculture Librarian, University Libraries

    Lynda H. Brock, Assistant to the Dean, Administrative and Research Support
    Lillian U. (Mickey) Harder, Director of the Brooks Center, Department of Performing Arts

    Sylvia B. Moore, Administrative Assistant II, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Faculty Recognition

  • Alumni Distinguished Professors

    Distinguished Professors2015
    Richard W. Blob - Alumni Distinguished Professor of Biological Science, CAFLS
    Richard Figliola - Alumni Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering, CECAS
    Julia Frugoli – Alumni Distinguished Professor of Genetics and Biochemistry, CAFLS
    Veronica G. Parker – School of Nursing, CHEHD

    Tony Cawthon – Alumni Distinguished Professor of Counselor Education (Higher Education/Student Affairs), Eugene T. Moore School of Education

    David J. Allison – Alumni Distinguished Professor of Architecture, CAAH
    William (Bill) R. Dougan – Alumni Distinguished Professor of Economics, CBBS
    J. Drew Lanham – Alumni Distinguished Professor of Forestry and Natural Resources, CAFLS
    William (Bill) T. Pennington – Alumni Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, CECAS
    Lesly A. Temesvari – Alumni Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences, CAFLS

    Antonis Katsiyannis – Alumni Distinguished Professor of Education, Eugene T. Moore School of Education

    William C. Bridges – Alumni Distinguished Professor of Applied Economics and Statistics, CAFLS
    June J. Pilcher - Alumni Distinguished Professor of Psychology, BBS
    Terry M. Tritt - Alumni Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy, CECAS
    Steven Marks - Alumni Distinguished Professor of History, CAAH

  • Endowed Chairs and Professors

    Thomas Green ClemsonEndowed Chairs and Titled Professors allow Clemson to attract and support eminent scholars of international reputation who enhance the quality of the University’s teaching, research and service activities. They initiate, encourage and support development of ideas and innovations, and they are teachers, mentors and role models for their students and colleagues. The Endowed Chairs and Titled Professors website gives a complete listing of all who have achieved this prestigious position.