The Department of Plant Industry (DPI) strives to prevent the introduction of new plant pests into South Carolina, as well as the spread of existing plant pests to noninfested locations through inspections, plant pest surveys, quarantines, and control and eradication programs. Movement of nursery stock is regulated by every state and foreign country. Under South Carolina law, any person engaged in the production or collection of nursery stock for sale or distribution must be a licensed nurserymen.
- There are two categories of nursery licenses in South Carolina: Nursery Grower and Nursery Dealer.
- A Nursery Growers Certificate is for any place where nursery stock is grown for sale. A Nursery Grower Certificate requires both an annual certification and registration. Certification is done through annual inspections by DPI Nursery Inspectors. Registration is separated between Exempt and Non-Exmpt Nurseries.
- Exempt Nurseries (Hobbyist or Governmental) do not pay a registration fee. Hobbyist nurseries have less than $5,000 in gross sales per calendar year. Governmental nurseries consist of state agencies, schools and non-profit organizations.
- Non-Exempt Nurseries pay an annual registration fee based on the size of their total nursery stock production area. The registration fees are $75.00, $125.00 and $200.00.
- A Nursery Dealer Certificate is for any person, not a grower of nursery stock, who buys certified nursery stock for resale. A Nursery Dealer Certificate requires annual registration and that all sources of nursery stock be listed on the Nursery Dealer Application. All nursery stock sources must also be certified in their state of origin.
- Nursery Dealer registraton categories are based on the gross annual sales of nursery stock and per location.
- Nursery Dealers with annual gross sales of $10,000.00 or less are exempt from a registration fee.
- Nursery Dealers with annual gross sales of $10,001.00 and above have registration fees of $50.00 and $100.00 per locaton.
- Certificates for both categories run from October 1st through September 30th every year. Annual license renewals are sent out at the beginning of August every year. All registration fees and renewal forms are due by September 30th every year.
For more information on the South Carolina Nursery and Dealer Licensing Program, please contact the Department of Plant Industry at (864) 646-2140 or follow this link to submit your question through our contact form.