Research Grants Committee- retired September 2019

Last Updated: 05/24/2018

Administrative Home

Office of the Vice President for Research

Contact Name

Tanju Karanfil, Vice President for Research (


 This committee receives applications for grants in support of research from faculty members in all departments of the University. Eligible faculty are those with tenure, tenure-track, or emeritus faculty status. Only one submission per person is allowed. Faculty who have received a URGC grant within the previous two years are not eligible. The committee makes grants to new faculty members initiating research and to faculty members initiating research in a new area or in areas where other sources of support are inadequate or nonexistent. Priority is given to new faculty (five years or less at Clemson). Grant applications may be obtained from the Office of Sponsored Programs. Applications are solicited annually through announcements campus-wide.

Faculty Manual Reference

Chapter VII 

Report Due Date


Meeting Frequency

As needed.

Membership Composition

Seat Type Quantity Term Length Date of Term Initiation Seat Filling Mechanism Voting or Non-Voting
Chair 1 1 year Elected Annually by the Committee Voting
Two Members from Each College  14 3 years Voting
One Faculty Librarian 1 3 years Voting

Membership List (Last updated 05/24/2018)

Name Email Seat Type Department and College Appointment Date Term Expires
Nishanth Tharayl ntharay Voting Plant and Environmental Science; AFLS 2020
A. Preston Byrd apbyrd Voting Agricultural Science; AFLS 2019
Hai Xaio haix Voting ECE; ECAS
Please contact the Faculty Senate Office with any questions about updating this page.