Skip to content


Godley-Snell Award for Excellence in Agricultural Research

The Godley-Snell Award is named in honor of W. Cecil Godley, former director of the South Carolina Agricultural Experiment Station, and Absalom W. Snell, former associate director. This is the largest annual agricultural research award given at the university and is allocated from earnings of a fund that was first established upon Dr. Godley’s retirement in 1986, and was increased in 1988 when Dr. Snell retired. 

The purpose of the fund is to stimulate excellence in agricultural research by making a personal award to faculty members involved in research through the Experiment Station. Awardees are selected each year by a committee appointed by the Experiment Station. A call for nominations is sent to participating faculty each spring and the award is presented at a function in which peers and the college leadership are present.


2023 Dil Thavarajah, Plant and Environmental Sciences

2022 Susan Kay Duckett, Animal and Veterinary Sciences

2021 Xiuping Jiang, Food, Nutrition, and Packaging Sciences

2020 Ksenija Gasic, Plant and Environmental Sciences

2019 Francis P. Reay-Jones, Plant and Environmental Sciences

2018 Anthony P. Keinath, Plant and Environmental Sciences

2017 Jeremy K. Greene, Plant and Environmental Sciences

2016 Bruce Martin, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

2015 Guido Schnabel, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

2013  Hong Luo, Genetics and Biochemistry

2012 Lambert B. McCarty, School of Agricultural, Forest and Environmental Sciences

2011 Ahmad Khalilian, Biosystems Engineering

2010 William H. Conner, Forestry and Natural Resources

2009 Albert G. Abbott, Genetics and Biochemistry

2008 Gregory Reighard, Horticulture

2007 Paul Dawson, Food Science

2006 Dave Brune, Agriculture and Biological Engineering

2005 Tom Jenkins, Animal & Veterinary Sciences

2004 David C. Guynn, Forest Resources

2003 Peter H. Adler, Entomology

2002 David H. Van Lear, Forest Resources

2001 Arnie E. Eversole, Aquaculture, Fisheries & Wildlife

2000 Ronald J. Thurston, Animal & Veterinary Sciences

1999 Bruce A. Fortnum, Plant Pathology & Physiology

1998 Halina Knap, Crop & Soil Environmental Sciences

1997 Ralph A. Dean, Plant Pathology & Physiology

1996 A. Budd Bodine, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences

1995 Albert W. Johnson, Entomology

1994 N. Dwight Camper, Plant Pathology & Physiology

1993 Dee L. Cross, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences

1992 Eldon I. Zehr, Plant Pathology & Physiology

1991 John C. Morse, Entomology

1990 Don M. Henricks, Animal Science

1989 O. W. Barnett, Plant Pathology & Physiology

1988 Peter M. Burrows, Experimental Statistics

1987 Mark S. Henry, Agr Economics & Rural Sociology

group photo from Godley Snell Research Center dedication, 1995
Godley and Snell are third and fourth from left side (front row)
CAFLS Research
CAFLS Research | 104 Barre Hall, Clemson, SC 29634-0303