Skip to content

Shaping the Future

The School of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences

Creating new knowledge and preparing the next generation of scholars, innovators, and entrepreneurs.

A surveyor with wind farm in background

About the School

We are pursuing relevant and impactful work that will help solve the most pressing problems of today and anticipate the challenges of tomorrow.

We are laser-focused on the infrastructure and environmental issues that directly impact how we build, work and create the quality of our planet. In the process, we create new knowledge and prepare the next generation of scholars, innovators, and entrepreneurs to solve the most complex and challenging problems at the nexus of these disciplines.

Video Transcript

0:00-0:04

An aerial view over campus buildings is shown on a sunny morning.

0:05-0:09

Two men in hard hats and safety vests look up at a wind turbine.

0:10-0:13

Two men discuss the interior of a large conduit with light coming in from outside the large opening.

0:14-0:18

Many students walk across the Library Bridge. The bridge is often crowded with students as they make their way between classes.

0:19-0:32

Purple letters spelling "Clemson University Civil Engineering" are on the side of a golf cart. Two graduate civil engineering students are using the cart as they prepare to survey the campus sidewalks for an accessibility project. They both help to set up the surveying equipment.

0:33-0:36

Four females are in a lab, looking over a blue device that holds samples.

0:37-0:46

The same device is seen again with two males and one female sitting in front of it, with a pen, paper, and a calculator. The students fade as a white Tiger Paw comes into focus in the center of the screen. The video concludes.

News and Events

Event Wrap-Up

Don Webster, lecturerGeorgia Tech’s Don Webster presented a Distinguished Lecture at Clemson on September 2, 2022. Dr. Don Webster is the Karen & John Huff School Chair and Professor in the School of Civil & Environmental Engineering. The title of his Distinguished Lecture was: Structure and Mixing of a Turbulent Meandering Chemical Plume.

Upcoming Events

    Research Thrusts

    A scientist tests the water supply.

    The Surface & Subsurface

    Developing the tools critical for managing the impacts of climate change and extreme events and stressors on water and land quantity and quality

    An engineer monitors the operation of a wind farm.

    The Earth’s Ecosphere

    Developing strategies for reducing our carbon footprint and mitigating the impact of greenhouse gas emissions on our local and global environments

    An interconnected modern city.

    Smart City Service

    Assessing the risks in smart cities/regions; identify the business, legal, and social contexts of security threats; and engineer strategic solutions

    A coastal structure amidst a severe weather event.

    Resilient Communities

    Addressing the challenges involved in creating more resilient communities, particularly at the interface of the natural and built environments

    Students working on a civil engineering project.

    School Mission

    Our guiding principles

    The mission of the school is to create and disseminate new knowledge in the fields of Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences; to educate and engage our students in critical thinking to inspire new discoveries; and to underpin society with the cutting-edge innovations of tomorrow that will address society’s grand challenges related to infrastructure, sustainability, and environmental quality.

    Meet the School Director

    Jesus de la Garza profile

    Jesus M. de la Garza

    Civil and environmental engineers/scientists touch the lives of all people every single day. We are the ones who make sure the world has clean water, safe roads, soil free of pollutants, clean air, sturdy buildings, railways to carry cargo, and towers to distribute electricity. The list could go on almost forever, but the point is undeniable: civil and environmental engineers/scientists underpin modern society by enabling people’s basic needs, allowing us all to live and to prosper.

    Clemson University has placed under a single tent the Glenn Department of Civil Engineering and the Department of Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences. The two departments now make up the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences (CEEES). A successful School will serve as a tool that shapes some of the best civil and environmental engineers/scientists in the world and accelerate Clemson’s push to be one of the best universities in the nation.

    I am honored by the confidence and trust bestowed in me to lead the CEEES School, an honor which I intend to earn every single day.  The School’s North Star is Top 10 status among public universities. To earn this standing, the School will focus on what we are calling Things That Matter—society’s grand challenges related to infrastructure and the environment.  The march to prominence will require the unequivocal commitment and unwavering effort of all the School’s faculty, staff, students, and alumni.  A successful CEEES School will cement Clemson’s position as a Carnegie R1 research university. 

    I know Clemson engineers/scientists are up to the challenge.

    Majors Offered

    CE & EEES Academic Majors
    Degree B.S. M.S. MEng Ph.D.
    Biosystems Engineering X X X
    Civil Engineering X X X X
    Environmental Engineering X
    Environmental Engineering and Science X
    Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences X
    Environmental Health Physics X
    Geology X
    Hydrogeology X
    Risk Engineering & Systems Analytics X
    Kelli Trotter profile

    “I like protecting people. I like making sure that people know that what we as environmental and nuclear engineers are doing isn’t scary,” she explains. “I want to facilitate conversations between scientists and the average person to explain the importance of environmental engineering.”

    Kelli Trotter
    Environmental Engineering, BS ’21, MS ‘22

    Faculty Directory

    CE & EEES Faculty
    Name Position Department Email
    Ronald D. Andrus Professor CE randrus@clemson.edu
    Mashrur A. Chowdhury Professor CE mac@clemson.edu
    Thomas E. Cousins Professor CE cousins@clemson.edu
    Jesus M. de la Garza Professor and School Director CE jdelaga@clemson.edu
    Timothy A. Devol Professor EEES devol@clemson.edu
    Ronald W. Falta Jr. Professor EEES faltar@clemson.edu
    Kevin T. Finneran Professor EEES ktf@clemson.edu
    David L. Freedman Professor and Department Chair EEES dfreedm@clemson.edu
    Tanju, Karanfil Professor and CU VP for Research EEES tkaranf@clemson.edu
    Nigel B. Kaye Professor CE nbkaye@clemson.edu
    Abdul A. Khan Professor CE abdkhan@clemson.edu
    Cindy Lee Professor EEES lc@clemson.edu
    Ashok Mishra Professor CE ashokm@clemson.edu
    Lawrence C. Murdoch Professor EEES lmurdoc@clemson.edu
    Pamela Murray-Tuite Professor CE pmmurra@clemson.edu
    Jennifer H. Ogle Professor and Department Chair CE ogle@clemson.edu
    Weichiang Pang Professor CE wpang@clemson.edu
    Brian A. Powell Professor EEES bpowell@clemson.edu
    Prasad Rao Rangaraju Professor CE prangar@clemson.edu
    Wayne A. Sarasua Professor CE sarasua@clemson.edu
    Mark A. Schlautman Professor EEES mschlau@clemson.edu
    Terry Walker Professor EEES walker4@clemson.edu
    Michael Carbajales-Dale Associate Professor EEES madale@clemson.edu
    Elizabeth Carraway Associate Professor EEES ecarraw@clemson.edu
    Ezra L. Cates Associate Professor EEES ecates@clemson.edu
    Qiushi Chen Associate Professor EEES qiushi@clemson.edu
    Christophe Darnault Associate Professor EEES cdarnau@clemson.edu
    Caye Drapcho Associate Professor EEES cdrapch@clemson.edu
    Amir Poursaee Associate Professor CE amire@clemson.edu
    David A. Ladner Associate Professor EEES ladner@clemson.edu
    Nicole E. Martinez Associate Professor EEES nmarti3@clemson.edu
    Tom Owino Associate Professor EEES towino@clemson.edu
    Kalyan R. Piratla Associate Professor CE kpiratl@clemson.edu
    Sudeep Popat Associate Professor EEES spopoat@clemson.edu
    N. Ravi Ravichandran Associate Professor CE nravic@clemson.edu
    Brandon E. Ross Associate Professor CE bross2@clemson.edu
    Lindsay Shuller-Nickles Associate Professor EEES lshulle@clemson.edu
    Chao Fan Assistant Professor CEEES cfan@clemson.edu
    Brady A Flinchum Assistant Professor EEES bflinch@clemson.edu
    Kelly Lazar Assistant Professor EEES klazar@clemson.edu
    Tuyen (Robert) Le Assistant Professor CE tuyenl@clemson.edu
    Da Li Assistant Professor CE dli3@clemson.edu
    Andrew R. Metcalf Assistant Professor EEES ametcal@clemson.edu
    M. Z. Naser Assistant Professor CE mznaser@clemson.edu
    Alex T. Pullen Assistant Professor EEES apullen@clemson.edu
    Laura Redmond Assistant Professor CE lmredmo@clemson.edu
    Diana C. Vanegas Gamboa Assistant Professor EEES dvanega@clemson.edu
    Omar Amer Lecturer CE oamer@clemson.edu
    Gary L. Amy Research Professor EEES gamy@clemson.edu
    Rachelle L. Beckner Lecturer CE rlbeckn@clemson.edu
    Valery N. Bliznyuk Research Assistant Professor EEES vblizny@clemson.edu
    Scott Brame Research Assistant Professor EEES brames@clemson.edu
    Huan Chen Research Assistant Professor EEES huanc@clemson.edu
    Alan Coulson Principal Lecturer EEES acoulso@clemson.edu
    Fanny M. Coutelot Research Assistant Professor EEES fcoutel@clemson.edu
    Scott J. DeWolf Research Associate Professor EEES sdewolf@clemson.edu
    Thomas H. Dodd Lecturer EEES tdodd@clemson.edu
    Roger Dyar Lecturer CE rddyar@clemson.edu
    Shanna L. Estes Research Assistant Professor EEES sestes@clemson.edu
    Mary Kate Fidler Senior Principal Lecturer EEES mfidler@clemson.edu
    Farhang Forghanparast Lecturer CE farhanf@clemson.edu
    Leonid N. Germanovich Research Professor EEES leonidg@clemson.edu
    Earl J. Hayter Lecturer CE sedlmnt@clemson.edu
    William Hiatt Lecturer EEES wchiatt@clemson.edu
    Sakib Mahmud Khan Research Assistant Professor CE sakibk@clemson.edu
    Minory Nammouz Principal Lecturer EEES mnammou@clemson.edu
    Kent Nilsson Lecturer CE nnilsso@clemson.edu
    Zoraya Rockow Lecturer CE zrockow@clemson.edu
    Emily Scribner Lecturer EEES escribn@clemson.edu
    Melissa Sternhagen Principal Lecturer CE mstern@clemson.edu
    Michael Stoner Lecturer CE mwstone@clemson.edu
    Margaret L. Thompson Senior Lecturer EEES mtmpsn@clemson.edu
    Fabricio Leiva Villacorta Lecturer CE farhanf@clemson.edu
    Tue Vu Research Assistant Professor CE tuev@clemson.edu

    Staff Directory

    CE & EEES Staff
    Name Position Department Email
    Lori Alexander Administrative Specialist, Rich Lab EEES llalexa@clemson.edu
    Kristi Baker Graduate Student Services Manager CE kristi@clemson.edu
    Nazmiye Cemre Birben Visiting Scholar EEES nbirben@clemson.edu
    Scott Black Lab Technologist CE sblack2@clemson.edu
    CJ Bolding Undergraduate Student Services Manager CE cwboldi@clemson.edu
    Addison Chandler T3S Program Coordinator CE achand2@clemson.edu
    Susan Culbreath Fiscal Technician, Rich Lab EEES sculbre@clemson.edu
    Jenna Elliott Undergraduate Student Services Coordinator EEES elliot3@clemson.edu
    Shaun Gaines T3S Manager CE jgaines@clemson.edu
    Jackie Gourdin Admin Assistant EEES jackieg@clemson.edu
    Mackenzie Kelley T3S Program Coordinator CE mbk@clemson.edu
    Hanam Kim Lab Assistant EEES hanamk@clemson.edu
    Dominique Salome Kwong-Moses Research Specialist EEES dkwongm@clemson.edu
    David Lipscomb Lab Manager, Rich Lab EEES llipsco@clemson.edu
    Rodney Merck Lab Specialist, CETL EEES dmerck@clemson.edu
    Rodney Morgan Lab Specialist, Rich Lab EEES rodneym@clemson.edu
    Briana Peele Office Manager EEES bkloc@clemson.edu
    Naomi Nieves C2M2 Program Coordinator CE nnieves@clemson.edu
    Barbara Smith Graduate Student Services Coordinator EEES barbar2@clemson.edu
    Abbee Tannery Office Manager CE abbeec@clemson.edu
    Andrea Ward Procurement/Payroll Support CE jward5@clemson.edu
    Kim Thompson-Neptune Procurement/Payroll Support EEES carmiet@clemson.edu
    Candace Weisner Office Manager CEEES cmweisn@clemson.edu
    School of Civil and Environmental Engr. and Earth Sciences
    School of Civil and Environmental Engr. and Earth Sciences | Lowry Hall, S Palmetto Blvd, Clemson, SC 29634