Graduate Academic Grievance Committee

Last Updated:   12/9/2021

Contact Name

Dena Smith, Assistant to the Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School


The Graduate Academic Grievance Committee hears grievances and recommends resolutions to student grievances forwarded to it from the Graduate School and the Initial Grievance Review Board (IGRB). In the case of appeal, the committee prepares the file and forwards recommendations to the Dean of the Graduate School. The IGRB is responsible for determining which grievances go forward to the Graduate Academic Grievance Committee.

This committee is authorized and described in the Clemson University Faculty Manual. Changes to its description or composition should be initiated with the current President of the Faculty Senate.

Membership Composition

Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (or dean’s designee) serves as non-voting chair

Membership Composition - Graduate Academic Grievance Committee
Seat Type Quantity Term Length Date of Term Initiation Seat Filling Mechanism Voting or Non-Voting Other Factors
Faculty Member (any) (Two per college) 14 2 years Elected by faculty accorded voting rights in each college Non-voting  
Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School or designee 1 By position Non-voting  
Graduate Student (One per college) 7 1 year Nominated by President of the Graduate Student Government and Appointed by Dean of the Graduate School Non-voting  

Chair and membership list redacted. Contact the person above for assistance.

* Emails are unless noted
Please contact the Faculty Senate Office with any questions about updating this page.