Skip to main content

Faculty Award for Excellence

The Board of Trustees seeks to honor the highest level of scholastic or professional achievement at the national and international level.

Criteria for Acknowledgement

The Clemson University Board of Trustees Award for Excellence is given to faculty members who have been honored by academic or professional societies at the national or international level. Eligible awards include those identified by the National Academies as either “prestigious” or “highly prestigious” as well as major national and international awards that are open to all scholars in a discipline or to a broad subset of scholars (e.g., young investigators, etc.). Click this link to see the current list of qualifying awards.

Special Recognition Categories of Faculty Honorees

In addition to national and international award winners, faculty with exceptional achievements in research, teaching and service are eligible to be honored.

Categories for Special Recognition Nominations

  • ClemsonForward
  • Sponsored Program Funding
  • Research, Scholarship and Creative Products
  • Teaching Excellence
  • Service to the University, State or Profession


  • Mid-May – Nomination period opens.
  • June 30th – Nomination period closes.
  • July – August – Nominations are reviewed and vetted by committee.
  • September – Winners notified.
  • October – Awards dinner held in conjunction with the Fall Quarterly meeting of the Board of Trustees.

Selection Process

  • Winners will be selected on an annual basis by a committee appointed by the Board of Trustees.
  • The identity of nominees shall be confidential throughout the review and selection process.
  • An electronic nomination form must be submitted during the nomination period.
  • Additional backup materials or letters of support will not be accepted.

 Nominations will reopen in spring 2018.