Skip to content

Materials Science and Engineering

Advisory Board

The Materials Science and Engineering’s External Advisory Board (EAB) was established in recognition of the value and importance of involving external stakeholders from appropriate fields (business, government, education and others) who can offer support and advice to the department to maintain the quality of MSE programs that produce highly sought after undergraduate and graduate students and ensure continued progress and success of the department. The EAB counsels the department regarding academic programs and priorities of industry and the engineering profession and suggests courses of action to address concerns in the context of the department’s mission.

Current Members


Dr. Jeff DiMaio*
CEO, Tetramer

Russ Esmacher*
Senior VP Optics Network Division, Nokia Greenville

Jeff Schmersal*
Senior Vice President and COO AVX Greenville, SC

Ricardo Garcia
Vice President of the Ceramic Division AVX Greenville, SC

Scott Johnson
GE Power Generation Technology Leader GE Gas Power

Warren Weeks*
VP Strategy and Product Marketing Wolfspeed Materials

Karthik Ramaratnam*
Product Development Director, PFNonwovens LLC

Stephane Cocard
Material Technical Director, ZAM Michelin Americas Research Center

National Laboratory

Barry Carter
Prof. Emeritus UCONN
Former Chair MSE Minnesota and UCONN
Editor Journal of Materials Science, Springer Nature
Sandia National Lab CINT Distinguished Affiliate Scientist

Dr. Brenda Garcia-Diaz
Manager, Energy Materials Science & Technology
Savannah River National Laboratory

Dr. James Marra*
Savannah River National Laboratory (retired)
Citizens for Nuclear Technology Awareness (CNTA)



Sudipta Seal
Department Chair, Department of Materials Science & Engineering, University of Central Florida

Naresh Thadhani
Department Chair, Department of Materials Science & Engineering Georgia Tech

Ken Reifsnider (NAE)
Prof. ME/MSE, University of Texas Arlington


*MSE Clemson Alumnus