April 14, 1964 Clemson Agricultural College Board of Trustees approved the establishment of the Water Resources Research Institute (WRRI).
July 17, 1964 Signed into law by President Lyndon B. Johnson, the Water Resources Research Act of 1964 authorized the appropriation of funds to assist each state in establishing and carrying out the work of a water resources research institute.
July 30, 1964 South Carolina Governor Donald Russell wrote a letter to Clemson University President Robert C. Edwards which gave the responsibility and authority for the WRRI to act as the designated water center within South Carolina. 
1998 The WRRI was renamed the South Carolina Water Resources Center.


1964-1975 A.W. (Absalom West) Snell
1975-1978 James T. Ligon
1978-1991 Paul B. Zielinksi
1991-1996 Earl J. Hayter
1997-Present Jeffery S. Allen