Skip to content

SC Adopt-a-Stream

Trainers & Staff

State Team Staff

Katie Callahan

Katie Callahan

Director
Clemson University Center for Watershed Excellence
katieca@clemson.edu 

David Chestnut

David Chestnut

Senior Scientist
SC DHEC
chestnde@dhec.sc.gov

Karin Skipper

Karin Skipper

Watershed Division Director
SC DHEC
skippekb@dhec.sc.gov

Emily Anderson

Emily Anderson

Watershed Scientist
Clemson University Center for Watershed Excellence
esa2@clemson.edu

Sierra Hylton

Sierra Hylton

SC Adopt-a-Stream Program Coordinator
SC DHEC
hyltonsf@dhec.sc.gov

Trainers

SC Adopt-a-Stream Trainers

The SC Adopt-a-Stream program continues to grow and reach members of the public across the state thanks to our dedicated volunteer Trainers! Trainers come from a range of backgrounds including higher education, Clemson Extension, SC DHEC, nonprofit organizations, and more. They bring expertise, passion, and energy to their workshops and are a vital part of the continued success of the program! We welcome new Trainers annually at our certification gatherings in January and February. If you’re interested in joining the Trainer team, we would love to hear from you! Find more information and fill out the interest form at the link below.

New Trainer Interest Form
Trainers Carrie and Steven standing at a stream with volunteers, holding Whirl-pak bags to collect bacteria samples.

Photo courtesy of Kaleigh Sims

Upstate Trainers

sharon appell

Sharon Appell

Macro
ReWa
Greenville Co.
sharona@re-wa.org

madeleine bolick

Madeleine Bolick

Macro
Freshwater
Friends of the Reedy River
Greenville Co.
madeleinebolick@gmail.com

beth button

Beth Button

Freshwater & Macro
Watershed Ecology Center
USC Upstate, Spartanburg Co.
bbutton@uscupstate.edu

chrsitine hettinger

Christine Hettinger

Freshwater
Oconee Co.
chettinger@charter.net

carrie koenigstein

Carrie Koenigstein

Freshwater
Anderson University
Anderson Co.
ckoenigstein@anderson.edu

david ladner

David Ladner

Freshwater
Clemson Extension
Pickens Co.
ladner@clemson.edu

mallory maher

Mallory Maher

Freshwater
Clemson Extension
Oconee Co.
mallord@clemson.edu

Gerardo Naundorf

Gerardo Naundorf

Freshwater
Greenville Co.
Gerardo.naundorf@gmail.com

josie newton

Josie Newton

Freshwater
Friends of the Reedy River
Greenville Co.
josie@friendsofthereedyriver.org

steven oshields

Steven O'Shields

Freshwater
Clemson Extension
Anderson Co.
oshiel3@clemson.edu

haley parent

Haley Parent

Freshwater
Clemson University
Pickens Co.
hparent@clemson.edu

jack turner

Jack Turner

Freshwater & Macro
Watershed Ecology Center
USC Upstate, Spartanburg Co.
jturner@uscupstate.edu

dale wilde

Dale Wilde

Friends of Lake Keowee Society
Oconee/Pickens Co.
dwilde@keoweefolks.org

Midlands Trainers

lauren alston

Lauren Alston

Freshwater
Aiken County Engineering Department
Aiken Co.
LAlston@aikencountysc.gov

john brightbill

John Brightbill

Freshwater
Keep Aiken County Beautiful
Aiken Co.
John29801@gmail.com

scott castleberry

Scott Castleberry

Macroinvertebrates
SC DHEC
Richland Co.
castlews@dhec.sc.gov

charly greenthaler

Charly Greenthaler

Freshwater
Clemson Extension
Lexington Co.
charlym@clemson.edu

dan hill

Dan Hill

Freshwater
SC DHEC
Kalmia Gardens at Coker University
Darlington Co.
dhill@coker.edu

justin lewandowski

Justin Lewandowski

Macroinvertebrates
SC DHEC
Richland Co.
lewandjf@dhec.sc.gov

Coastal Trainers

cheryl carmack

Cheryl Carmack

Tidal Saltwater
Charleston Waterkeeper
Charleston Co.
cheryl@charlestonwaterkeeper.org

ellen comeau

Ellen Comeau

Tidal Saltwater
Clemson Extension
Beaufort Co.
ecomeau@clemson.edu

christine ellis

Christine Ellis

Freshwater & Tidal Saltwater
Winyah Rivers Alliance
Horry Co.
christine@winyahrivers.org

victoria green

Victoria Green

Freshwater
Coastal Carolina University
Horry Co.
vgreen@coastal.edu

kelly hall

Kelly Hall

Freshwater & Tidal Saltwater
Coastal Carolina University
Horry Co.
Countykhall1@coastal.edu

chris kehrer

Chris Kehrer

Tidal Saltwater
Port Royal Sound Foundation
Beaufort Co.
ckehrer@portroyalsoundfoundation.org

jessica kinsella

Jessica Kinsella

Tidal Saltwater
SC DNR
Charleston Co.
kinsellaj@dnr.sc.gov

jennifer plunket

Jennifer Plunket

Tidal Saltwater
USC Baruch
Georgetown Co.
jen@baruch.sc.edu

cara schildtknecht

Cara Schildtknecht

Freshwater
Waccamaw Riverkeeper
Horry Co.
riverkeeper@winyahrivers.org

erik smith

Erik Smith

Tidal Saltwater
USC Baruch
Georgetown Co.
erik@baruch.sc.edu

guinn wallover

Guinn Wallover

Freshwater & Macro
Freshwater & Tidal Saltwater
Clemson Extension
Charleston Co.
cggarre@clemson.edu

The Center for Watershed Excellence
The Center for Watershed Excellence | 509 Westinghouse Rd, Pendleton, SC 29670