Driver Improvement Program:
Clemson University has adopted the South Carolina Fleet Safety Program established by the S.C. State Budget and Control Board. This program applies to all employees who have occasion to drive Clemson University vehicles.
Classes are provided for Clemson University employees at no charge. Registration may be accomplished by calling the Office of Risk Management 864-656-3354 or by sending an email to the following: firstname.lastname@example.org
New employees or reassigned employees who fit any of the following categories must attend the driver improvement class within 90 days and must maintain a valid certificate as long as the employee is operating a state vehicle:
- Employees who operate a state-owned vehicle as part of their job
- Employees permanently assigned a vehicle
- Employees at fault in a preventable accident in a university vehicle
- Employees whose motor vehicle records shows nine or more violation points, two State vehicle accidents, or three total vehicle accidents
In accordance with the state’s program, Clemson University has established an Accident Review Board to review all accidents involving Clemson University vehicles. South Carolina Code of Law 1-11-141 provides that a state employee operator may be assessed up to $200 if found to be at fault in an accident after a review of the records conducted by the Accident Review Board.
The University screens motor vehicle records of all employees annually.