Skip to Content

PHS Faculty Research Interests

Name Title Research/Expertise Email Phone Office

Cartmell, Kathleen

Associate Professor

Health Services Research; Dissemination and Implementation Science; Cancer Prevention and Control; HPV Vaccination; Tobacco Cessation; Palliative Care; Patient Navigation; Global Health

kcartme@clemson.edu

864/656-2719

519 EDWARDS HALL

Gimbel, Ronald W

Dept Chair/Head

Clinical Decision Making; Clinical Documentation; Mobile Health; Chronic Disease Management; Medical Informatics; Public Health Informatics

RGIMBEL@clemson.edu

864/656-1969

501 EDWARDS

Griffin, Sarah F

Associate Professor

School Based Health; Obesity Prevention; Physical Activity; Nutrition; Community Development; Chronic Disease Prevention; Implementation Science; Program Evaluation

SGRIFFI@clemson.edu

864/656-1622

534 EDWARDS HALL

Heo, Moonseong

Professor

Obesity Epidemiology; Hepatis C Care Models for Injecting Drug Use

 MHEO@clemson.edu

864/455-1132

UCG/
Greenville

Jing, Xia

Assistant Professor

Clinical Decision Support Systems in Primary Care Settings; Data-driven Hypothesis Generation & Visual Analytics; Health IT for Rural & Under-served Populations, Knowledge Bases & Ontology; Telemedicine

xjing@clemson.edu

864/656-3347

511 EDWARDS HALL

Kalbaugh, Corey

Assistant Professor

 Cardiovascular Disease Epidemiology; Healthcare Disparities; Health Services Research; Peripheral Artery Disease; Implicit Bias; Interventions to Reduce Disparities; Measurement of Tobacco Use

 coreyk@clemson.edu

 864/656-6694

 525 EDWARDS HALL

Jones, Karyn

Associate Professor

Health Messaging using Persuasion and Motivation; Interpersonal Communication; Media Coverage of Disability and Genetic Syndromes; Skin Cancer; Breast Cancer

karynj@clemson.edu

864/656-2971

413 EDWARDS
HALL

Kemper, Karen A

Associate Professor

Physical Activity and Chronic Disease; Physical Activity Promotion; Obesity Prevention; Nutrition; Community Initiatives; Body Image; After School Environments; Program Evaluation

kkaren@clemson.edu

864/656-5490

533 EDWARDS HALL

Kingree, Jeffrey B

Professor

Addiction; Alcohol Related Behaviors; Sexual Aggressions; Suicide Prevention; Adverse Childhood Events

kingree@clemson.edu

864/656-6946

517 EDWARDS HALL

Mayo, Rachel M

Professor

Health Disparities; Cancer Prevention and Control; Women’s Health; Maternal and Child Health; Latino Health; Breast and Cervical Cancer Survivorship; International Health; Opioid Addiction 

rmayo@clemson.edu

864/656-7435

535A EDWARDS HALL

Shi, Lu

Assistant Professor

Behavioral and Cognitive Economics; Health Economics; Health Simulation and Modeling; Mindfulness

LUS@clemson.edu

864/656-0405

507 EDWARDS

Rennert, Lior

Assistant Professor

Development of Statistical Methodology from Public Health; Survival Analysis; Opioid and Alcohol Dependency Neurodegenerative Diseases; Cocaine Dependency 

LIORR@clemson.edu

864/656/7434

529 Edwards

Truong, Khoa Dang

Associate Professor

Healthcare for Disadvantaged Population; Tobacco/Alcohol/Drug Control Policies; Obesity; Mental Health; Health Economics

KTRUONG@clemson.edu

864/656-4704

529 Edwards Hall

Williams, Joel Edward

Associate Professor

Community Health Promotion; Nutrition and Physical Activity; Obesity; Chronic Disease Prevention and Control; Program Evaluation; Patient Self-Management

JOEL2@clemson.edu

864/656-1017

523 EDWARDS HALL

Zhang, Lu

Assistant Professor

Cancer Epidemiology; Personalized Breast Cancer Treatment and Outcome; Prostate Cancer Treatment and Outcome; Lung Cancer Screening; Health Disparity

Lz3@clemson.edu

864/656-3082

513 EDWARDS HALL