Skip to main content

Overview of the Holcombe Department of ECE

Known Nationally and Internationally

The Holcombe Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering can trace its roots back to the beginnings of Clemson University, as more than half of the first graduating class received degrees in mechanical-electrical engineering in 1896. One of the oldest engineering departments at Clemson University, the department was formed in 1933, adding an electrical engineering graduate program in 1948, and awarding its first doctoral degree in 1967. 

The department is now one of the largest and most active at Clemson, with over 50 faculty members who teach and perform research in a broad range of topics in Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering.

Many members of our faculty are known nationally and internationally, and among our ranks are several IEEE Fellows, four endowed chairs, and eight named professorships. In addition, several of our young faculty members have recently won prestigious national and international awards and grants. Many of our alumni have reached the highest levels of professional achievement. Our student body currently numbers approximately 540 undergraduates and 180 graduate students, of whom 100 are Ph.D. candidates. Our department offers a rich curriculum which comprises more than 60 undergraduate courses and 80 graduate courses. Our ratio of students to faculty is low, and we are proud of the Clemson tradition of close interaction among faculty and students. 

Our faculty and graduate students are involved in diverse and challenging research projects, and the department has been the recipient of a number of grant awards from highly prestigious and selective national research programs. Our research activities are conducted in fully-equipped laboratories, many of which are housed in the state-of-the-art Fluor Daniel Engineering Innovation Building. Current research encompasses an array of activities in the general areas of computing and communications; energy systems; intelligent systems; and photonics, electronics and quantum systems.

For more info

Dr. Hai Xiao
ECE Chair, Professor
(864) 656-5912

Dr. Carl Baum
Associate Professor, Undergrad Program Coordinator
(864) 656-5928

Dr. Harlan Russell
Associate Professor, Grad. Program Coordinator
(864) 656-7214

Dr. Hassan Raza
Senior Lecturer, Undergraduate Assessment Coordinator
(864) 656-5924