Skip to content

Automotive Engineering

Honor & Awards

Lawler with research team at CUICAR.


The Department of Automotive Engineering awards individuals based on recommendations and accomplishments.

Masters Student of the Year

This award is chosen by Automotive Engineering faculty members who look at the complete body of work of the student, from academics to projects, to student employment performance and initiative. Letters of recommendation from faculty are also heavily weighted in favor of those top-performing students at the M.S. level.

Ph.D. Student of the Year

This award is chosen by Automotive Engineering faculty members who find that the awarded student has the passion, desire, and work ethic to succeed in academics, research, and in the future workforce. Recipients must have a high GPA, top-notch research, and a great letter of recommendation from their faculty advisor.

Distinguished Alumni of the Year

This award recognizes alumni for their accomplishments in the auto industry or academia. To submit a nomination, please submit 2 letters of recommendation to include a supervisor and a colleague or former AuE faculty, an updated CV/resume, and a 1-page personal statement indicating why the individual is deserving of the distinguished alumni award.

Winners By Category

Department Honors & Awards Winners
Year M.S. Ph.D. Alumni
2023 Tanmay Chhatbar Nate Goulet Ala Qattawi
2022 Anirudh Sundar Tyler Grimm Saeed Farahani
2021 Amit M. Deshpande Brian Gainey Wesley Salandro
2019 Prathamesh Bhat DoHyun (Daniel) Yoon  Kavit Antani 
2018 Matthew Wessner Veera Aditya Yerra 
2017 Bhavya Mishra Brandt Ruszkiewicz
2016 Nived Govind Karumatt Zoleikha Abdollaahi Biron
2015 Vasileios Bardis Satadru Dey
2014 Frederick Giffels  Mahmoud Abdelhamid
2013 Pietro Giovenco Justin Milner