Skip to content
Human factors research in Watts
Department of Industrial Engineering

People

Dr. Kevin Taaffe - Chair

Chair of IE - Kevin Taaffe

Kevin Taaffe, Harriet & Jerry Dempsey Professor and Chair of the Industrial Engineering Department, joined Clemson as an assistant professor in 2004. He brings three decades of industry and academic experience to the position. Taaffe's research interests include the application of simulation and optimization in healthcare, production and transportation logistics, with much of his most recent research centered on applying industrial engineering techniques and analysis to healthcare. He holds a Master of Science in Industrial Engineering from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and a Ph.D. in industrial systems and engineering from the University of Florida.

  • Received Collaboration Award in 2018 for research conducted on operating room procedures
  • Member of IISE, serving in several roles, including faculty advisor to the Clemson chapter, region vice president and vice president of student development
  • Selected to receive the Fellow Award from the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE), an honor that puts him in the highest class of IISE membership
  • Work includes 58 refereed journal publications, six book chapters and 50 refereed conference proceedings
  • Research funded by various federal agencies, including the National Science Foundation, the National Institute of Health and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Taaffe Profile

Meet Our Faculty & Staff

The Department of Industrial Engineering has over 20 full-time faculty members, with continued growth expected over the next few years. We have a student population of more than 500 undergraduate students, 125 M.S. students, and 40 Ph.D. students. Furthermore, our online Master of Engineering (MEng) program has over 80 enrolled students.

Faculty

Avilés profile

Jessica Avilés

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
(864) 656-0920
aviles@clemson.edu

Cha profile

Jackie Cha

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
(864) 656-1874
jackie@clemson.edu

Chalil Madathil profile

Kapil Chalil Madathil

PROFESSOR/GRADUATE PROGRAM COORDINATOR
Wilfred P. Tiencken Professor of Industrial & Civil Engineering
(864) 656-0856
kmadath@clemson.edu

Chavez-Negrete profile

Raul Chavez-Negrete

PROFESSOR OF PRACTICE
(864) 656-1364
rachave@clemson.edu

Dixon profile

Emma Dixon

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
(864) 656-4716
eschare@clemson.edu

Ferrell profile

Bill Ferrell

PROFESSOR
Fluor International Supply Chain Professor
(864) 656-2724
fwillia@clemson.edu

Ghate profile

Archis Ghate

PROFESSOR
Fluor Endowed Chair
(864) 656-1334
archisg@clemson.edu

Gramopadhye profile

Anand K. Gramopadhye

PROFESSOR/DEAN
109 Riggs Hall
(864) 656-2621
gramop@clemson.edu

Sudeep Hegde profile

Sudeep Hegde

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
(864) 656-0111
sudeeph@clemson.edu

Tuğçe Işık

Tuğçe Işık

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
(864) 656-2454
tisik@clemson.edu

Amin Khademi profile

Amin Khademi

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
(864) 656-6919
khademi@clemson.edu

Kharoufeh profile

Jeffrey P. Kharoufeh

PROFESSOR
(864) 656-5540
kharouf@clemson.edu

Kurz profile

Mary Elizabeth Kurz

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
(864) 656-4652
mkurz@clemson.edu

Dan Li profile

Dan Li

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
(864) 656-1435
dli4@clemson.edu

Qi Luo Profile

Qi Luo

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
(864) 656-5649
qluo2@clemson.edu

Magagnotti profile

Mariah S. Magagnotti

SENIOR LECTURER
(864) 656-4623
mariahm@clemson.edu

Messer profile

Jeff Messer

PROFESSOR OF PRACTICE
(864) 656-4662
jbmesse@clemson.edu

neyens2.jpg

David M. Neyens

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
(864) 656-4719
dneyens@clemson.edu

Hamed Rahimian profile

Hamed Rahimian

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
(864) 656-7889
hrahimi@clemson.edu

Sharkey profile

Thomas Sharkey

PROFESSOR
(864) 656-7891
tcshark@clemson.edu

Song profile

Yongjia Song

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
(864) 656-9832
yongjis@clemson.edu

Srinivasan profile

Divya Srinivasan

PROFESSOR
McQueen Quattlebaum Professor
(864) 656-5645
sriniv5@clemson.edu

Kevin M. Taaffe profile

Kevin M. Taaffe

PROFESSOR/DEPARTMENT CHAIR
Harriet and Jerry Dempsey Professor
(864) 656-0291
taaffe@clemson.edu

Emily Tucker profile

Emily Tucker

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
(864) 656-9573
etucke3@clemson.edu

Adjunct/Affiliated Faculty

Abernathy profile

J H Abernathy, III, MD, MPH, FASE, FAHA

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
Interim Executive Vice Chair and Division Chief of Cardiac Anesthesiology at Johns Hopkins
(410) 614-0620
jhabern@clemson.edu

Cahalane profile

Liam Cahalane

LECTURER
Associate Technical Fellow and Industrial Engineer Boeing Defense Programs
(406) 994-4339
Liam.J.Cahalane@boeing.com

Catchpole profile

Ken Catchpole, Ph.D.

PROFESSOR
Professor of Human Factors at Medical University of South Carolina
(843) 792-4955
catchpol@musc.edu

B Eksioglu profile

Burak Eksioglu, Ph.D.

PROFESSOR
University of Arkansas
(479) 575-3156
burak@uark.edu

S Eksioglu profile

Sandra D. Eksioglu, Ph.D.

PROFESSOR
Hefley Professor in Logistics and Entrepreneurship University of Arkansas
(479) 575-6042
sandra@uark.edu

Fralix profile

Brian Fralix

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
(864) 656-5197
bfralix@clemson.edu

Garrett profile

Sandra Garrett

LECTURER
(864) 656-3114
garrett@clemson.edu

Huynh profile

Nathan Huynh

ADJUNCT PROFESSOR
Keith W. Klaasmeyer Chair in Engineering and Technology; Director, Nebraska Transportation Center
(402) 472-3447
nathan.huynh@unl.edu

Joseph profile

Anjali Joseph

PROFESSOR
Endowed Chair in Architecture + Health Design and Research, School of Architecture
(864) 656-2273
anjalij@clemson.edu

Law profile

Katie Law, Ph.D.

ADJUNCT PROFESSOR
(608) 419-0084
katie.e.law@medtronic.com

Maikala profile

Rammohan V Maikala, PhD, ASP

ADJUNCT PROFESSOR
Subject Matter Expert – Program Technical Consultant, National Safety Council
(971) 330-7051
ram.maikala@nsc.org

Pirrallo profile

Ronald Pirrallo, MD, MHSA, FACEP

CLINICAL PROFESSOR
Vice Chair Department of Emergency Medicine, Academic Affairs Prisma Health
203 Earle Hall
(864) 455-6211
Ronald.Pirrallo@primsahealth.org

Reid profile

Christopher Reid, Ph.D.

PROFESSOR OF PRACTICE
Human Factors & Ergonomics Boeing Environment Health & Safety (EHS)
(843) 708-6005
christopher.r.reid@boeing.com

Vogiatzis profile

Chrysafis Vogiatzis, Ph.D.

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(217) 300-7078
chrys@illinois.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Cho profile

Rae Cho

PROFESSOR EMERITUS
bcho@clemson.edu

Greenstein profile

Joel Greenstein

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR EMERITUS
iejsg@clemson.edu

Kimbler profile

Del Kimbler

PROFESSOR EMERITUS
kimbler@clemson.edu

Melloy profile

Brian J. Melloy

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR EMERITUS
melloyb@clemson.edu

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Barbieri profile

Dechristian Franca Barbieri

POST-DOCTORAL FELLOW
Human Factors Engineering
dfranca@clemson.edu

Park profile

Jangho Park

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW
Ergonomics
janghop@clemson.edu

Staff

Clark profile

Martin Clark

SYSTEM DEVELOPER III
(864) 656-1269
clarkcm@clemson.edu

Fenton profile

Casey Fenton

GRADUATE STUDENT SERVICES COORDINATOR
(864) 656-4785
cbfento@clemson.edu

Fiori profile

Tina Fiori

ACCT/PROCUREMENT
(864) 656-0184
tfiori@clemson.edu

Garcia profile

Julie Garcia

ACCT/FISCAL ANALYST III
(864) 656-7468
jgarcia@clemson.edu

Jordan profile

Derrick Jordan

WEB CONTENT MANAGER
(864) 656-1500
jordan2@clemson.edu

LeCroy profile

Jess LeCroy

STUDENT SERVICES MANAGER
(864) 656-0183
jpruszk@clemson.edu

Lennox profile

Denise Lennox

OFFICE MANAGER
(864) 656-7258
dlennox@clemson.edu

Long profile

Susan Long

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR
(864) 656-1227
sllong@clemson.edu

Redlinger profile

Jodi Redlinger

FINANCIAL BUSINESS MANAGER
(864) 656-8064
jodir@clemson.edu

Snipes profile

Kathy Snipes

ENGAGEMENT COORDINATOR
(864) 656-8958
kasnipe@clemson.edu