Skip to content

Division of Research

2022 Research Symposium

The annual Symposium brings together faculty members from all disciplines to share research ideas and form collaborative teams. The event also includes the announcement of the Researcher of the Year and the University Research, Scholarship and Artistic Achievement Awards. 

Thank you to everyone who participated in the 2022 Research Symposium on May 10th at the Watt Family Innovation Center. Abstracts from the session presentations are available below for your records, if needed. We hope to see you at next year’s Research Symposium. 

Schedule at a Glance

Timing Activity
8:00 a.m. Breakfast and coffee available
8:15 a.m. Welcome from the Symposium organizers, Dani Herro (Digital Media and Learning) and Chris Saski (Plant and Environmental Sciences)
8:30 a.m. Research Update and Clemson Strategic Planning Forum (Dr. Tanju Karanfil, Provost Dr. Bob Jones)
9:30 a.m. Refreshment Break
9:45-11:00 a.m. Plenary Session: The Future of Research and Scholarship in a Changing Climate
8:15-11:00 a.m. ZOOM LINK
11:15-12:15 p.m. Breakout Session 1
12:15-12:45 p.m. Lunch
12:45-1:45 p.m. Remarks from President Clements and VPR Awards Ceremony
Join Zoom Meeting ZOOM LINK
1:45 p.m. Grad 3-Minute Thesis Presentations
Join Zoom Meeting ZOOM LINK
2:00-3:15 p.m. Breakout Session 2
3:15 p.m. Afternoon Break
3:30-5:00 p.m. Breakout Session 3
5:00-6:00 p.m. Networking and Social Hour

For questions reach out to Erin GossDani HerroChris Saski, or Penny Reid


  • 11:15-12:15pm, Session 1
    WFIC 218
    Chair: Brian Powell Gary Machlis (Forestry and Environmental Conservation), A Framework for Research on Recurrent Acute Disasters

    Brian Powell (Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences), Large rainfall events cause pulsed release of trace metal and radionuclide contaminants from riparian wetlands

    Andrew Brown (School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences), Functional Calibration of Computer Models
    WFIC Auditorium
    Chair: Andrew Metcalf Adolph Beyerlein (Chemistry), Stability of Magnetic Skyrmions as Candidates for Dense Information Storage Devices

    Carl Blue (Graphic Communications), Computer-to-screen application using an inkjet printer to apply a printed stencil directly to the mesh as a hybrid screen-printing process

    Andrew Metcalf (Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences), Using Microfluidics to Create Devices for Future Research
    WFIC 203
    Chair: Chris Saski Jose Payero (Agricultural Sciences), Measuring Crop Evapotranspiration Using the Eddy Covariance and Surface Renewal methods in South Carolina

    Sachin Rustgi (Plant and Environmental Sciences), Facing the fear of accidental peanut exposure with reduced-immunogenicity peanuts
    WFIC 106
    Chair: Dani Herro Poster Session #1:
    Alexander Adogwa
    Allison Traylor (virtual)
    Anna Morrison
    Cristina Tica
    Daniel Moore
    Deepak Sapkota
    Delaney O'Tuel
    Emily Howell
    Ewa (Richard) Chukwu
    Junior Langa
    Leah Holcomb
    WFIC 208
    Chair: Erin Goss Poster Session #2:
    Longxiang Guo
    Lu Zhang (virtual)
    Maher Algalayini
    Omar Hussein
    Prasanna Valavanur Shekar
    Pravin Nath
    Reagan Ross
    Rohan Goli (digital)
    Salman Naveed
    Samantha Scott
    William T. Pennington
    Zehua Jin
  • 2:00-3:15, Session 2
    WFIC 218
    Chair: Dani Herro Golnaz Arastoopour Irgens (Education and Human Development), Designing Critical Machine Learning Educational Programs with and for Children

    Dani Herro (Education and Human Development), Pathways for their Futures: Engaging Rural Elementary Students in Authentic Data Science Practices

    Shanna Hirsch (Education and Human Development), Innovations in Teaching Critical Content to Undergraduate Teacher Candidates

    Joseph Ryan (Education and Human Development), Recognizing the Benefits and Versatility of Single Case Research Design for Interdisciplinary Research
    WFIC 106
    Chair: Thomas Britt CUSHR Health Research: A Focus on Innovation in Addiction and Substance Use Disorders

    Mary Ellen Wright (Nursing)

    Brian Miller (Sociology)

    Corrine Sackett (Education and Development)

    Kaileigh Byrne (Psychology)

    Moonseoung Heo (Public Health Sciences)

    Irene Pericot (Public Health Sciences)
    WFIC 208
    Chair: Jeremy King Academic Analytics’ Faculty Insight and External Discovery Site tools (roundtable)

    Jeremy King (Clemson U)

    Julie Wilson (Academic Analytics)

    Beth Falwell (Academic Analytics)
    Chair: Berrin Terim Architecture, Society and the City (roundtable)

    Berrin Terim (School of Architecture)

    David Franco (School of Architecture)

    Peter Laurence (School of Architecture)

    Andreea Mihalache (School of Architecture)

    Ufuk Ersoy (School of Architecture)

    Amy Trick (School of Architecture)
    Chair: Puskar Khanal Climate Smart Forestry & Artificial Intelligence (lightning talks & seminar)

    Geoff Wang, Forestry & Environmental Conservation

    Puskar Khanal, Forestry & Environmental Conservation

    Feng Luo, School of Computer Science

    Venkat N. Krovi, International Center for Automotive Research

    Matthew Browning, College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences

    Whitney K. Huang, School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
  • 3:30-5:00pm, Session 3
    WFIC 106
    Chair: Erin Goss Seth McKelvey (English), Analyzing Narrative Voices in Fiction with Computer Help

    Hudson Smith (Watt Family Innovation Center), In-the-wild detection of coordinated social media accounts using message narratives and account characteristics

    Eric Touya (Languages), French laïcité: Feminisms, Cross-Cultures, and the Common Good (virtual presentation)

    Kendra Allison (School of Nursing), Adolescent mental health assessment in primary care settings of Appalachia, South Carolina to include sexting frequency and depression indices
    WFIC Auditorium
    Chair: Zhicheng Dou Microbial Pathogenesis and Resistance (seminar & lightning talks)

    Zhicheng Dou, BioSci

    Emily Rosowski, BioSci

    Anna Seekatz, BioSci

    Lior Rennert, Public Health Sciences

    Lukasz Kozubowski, G&B

    James Morris, G&B

    Daniel Whitehead, Chemistry
    WFIC 208
    Chair: Emily Howell Future of Learning

    Emily Howell (Education and Human Development)

    Rachel Wagner (Higher Education and Student Affairs)

    Golnaz Irgens (Learning Sciences)
    Chair: Steve Creager Full panel: Electrical Energy Storage (5-10 minute papers)

    Steve Creager, Chemistry

    Apparao Rao, Physics

    Srikanth Pilla, Automotive Engineering

    Jeff Zhang, Automotive Engineering

    Mark Roberts, Chem & bimolecular Engineering

    Dillip Panda, Materials Science

    Morteza Sabet, Automotive Engineering
    Chair: Cameron Bushnell Full panel: Communication Across the Curriculum

    Karen High, Engineering and Science Education

    Carl Blue, Graphic Communications

    Shanna Hirsch, Education and Human Development

    Lesly Temesvari, Biological Sciences

    Lea Jenkins, Mathematics and Statistical Sciences

    Cameron Bushnell, Pearce Center/English, Moderator
Division of Research
Division of Research | 230 Kappa Street, Clemson, SC 29634