Skip to Content

2020 George B. Hartzog, Jr. Award Recipients

Every year, the Clemson University Institute for Parks recognizes up to six exemplary leaders for their work to address environmental issues and concerns in parks and protected areas. 

Watch Bob Powell, Ph.D., introduce this year's awards program and recipients. He is joined by former National Park Service Directors Robert G. Stanton and Fran Mainella, who share their own experiences with George B. Hartzog, Jr. and the awards program. 

Click on the photos below to learn more about the 2020 recipients of the George B. Hartzog, Jr. Environmental Awards. You can also download the event program for information about this year's winners. 

  • Kelly Bricker Ph.D., Ph.D.
    Benton H. Box Award Recipient
    Kelly Bricker, Ph.D.
  • John W. Day, Jr., Ph.D.
    Benton H. Box Award Recipient
    John W. Day Jr., Ph.D.
  • Kerri Cahill, Ph.D.
    Walter T. Cox Award Recipient
    Dr. Kerri Cahill, Ph.D.
  • Paul Leonard, Ph.D.
    Dwight A. Holder Award Recipient
    Paul Leonard, Ph.D.
  • Mr. George McDonald
    Robert G. Stanton Award Recipient
    Mr. George McDonald
  • Kerri Cahill, Ph.D.
    William C. Everhart Award Recipient
    Drew Lanham, Ph.D.