Skip to content
Deep Orange 11 car on display at CUICAR.
Department of Automotive Engineering


Dr. Laine Mears - Chair

Laine Mears profile

Laine Mears joined the Automotive Engineering faculty in July 2006 as an Assistant Professor at the CU-ICAR campus as one of the founding faculty members. With nearly three decades of experience in education and industry, his work spans advanced controls for manufacturing, assembly processes, human-machine interaction, Industry 4.0 and national advanced manufacturing trends. Prior to Clemson, he worked ten years in the industry with Tier-1 and Tier-2 automotive and bearing manufacturers in Engineer, Manager, and Product Launch Coordinator roles.

  • Published Over 160 Peer-Reviewed Articles
  • NSF CAREER Award Recipient
  • SAE Ralph Teetor Educational Award
  • Founder of the NSF-funded THINKER Graduate Program
  • Founding Director of the Clemson Vehicle Assembly Center
  • Named 20 Most Influential Professors in Smart Manufacturing by SME
Mears Profile

Department Administrators and Staff

Department Contacts
Name Title Email
Laine Mears Department Chair
Trae King Director of Computing & Network Services
Jen Groff Office Manager
Cristina Shorts Program Manager

Please view the complete list of faculty and staff below in our department directory.

Department Directory

The Department of Automotive Engineering has over 200 graduate students and will welcome its first set of undergraduate students for the new B.S. in Automotive Engineering. The department has 35 faculty members and 20 administrative, technical, and research staff members. The Department's Advisory Board is composed of individuals who assist the department in its mission. The Board meets twice a year.

Academic Contacts

The Clemson University Automotive Engineering Bachelor of Science degree is designed to provide students with engineering science and design knowledge. We offer Master of Science degrees in Automotive Engineering (thesis, non-thesis, and internship options) and an Automotive Engineering Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degree.

Please visit our tour page for information on campus tours, virtual meetings, and department visits.

Jeremiah Farmer
Student Services Manager

Savannah Burke
Undergraduate Student Services Coordinator

Chali Thompson
Undergraduate Student Services Coordinator 

Heather Tomlinson
Graduate Student Services Coordinator

Advisory Board

The Department of Automotive Engineering's Advisory Board is represented by industry partners advising on professional trends related to automotive engineering students.

Department of Automotive Engineering
Department of Automotive Engineering | 4 Research Drive, Greenville, S.C. 29607