Skip to content

Clemson University Graduate School

3MT Three Minute Thesis

Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is a research communication competition developed by The University of Queensland which challenges graduate students to present a compelling oration on their thesis and its significance in just three minutes in language appropriate to a non-specialist audience.

Clemson University's Graduate Student Government and the Graduate School co-hosted Clemson’s first 3MT competition in April 2014 as one of the premier events of the University’s first Research and Innovation Month. Each entrant was judged on delivery and content by a panel of judges that included staff, faculty, and community members. Since, 3MT has become a traditional event for graduate researchers to give crisp presentations about the innovations happening in the university, with the winner representing Clemson University at the regional level competition.

3MT important links:

  • 3MT Canvas page - Important links, including registration, a recorded information session, as well as additional information regarding slide design and presentation, is available via Canvas.
  • Registration for Preliminary Competition - For students to register themselves in the competition (using their email).

3MT Important Dates:

  • Friday, 9/29 - Submission deadline
  • Tuesday, October 3 - Thursday, October 5 (5PM-7PM) - Preliminary competition
  • Friday, November 10 (12PM-4PM in Watt) - Final competition


Clemson University 3MT® Competition (2023)

The 2023 3MT® competition at Clemson University will be held in two stages – a college level preliminary round, and a final competition. It will also have two participant categories – a Doctoral Candidate group and a Graduate Student group. Preliminary level winners from each College will be drawn from both groups who will then go on to present at the 3MT finals on Nov 10 from 12-4 pm at the Watt Center Auditorium.  3MT® champions from both groups will receive $1000 apiece and the doctoral candidate winner will represent Clemson at the CSGS Regional competition in Spring 2024 in Greenville, South Carolina.

Furthermore, the Clemson University Research Foundation (CURF) will be sponsoring this year’s CURF-3MT People’s Choice Award. This award will be given to the participant whose presentation was voted on the most by attendees as well as livestream viewers and will be presented by the Senior Deputy Director of CURF – Mr. Chase Kasper. 

Judging Info

Each competitor will be assessed on the judging criteria listed below. Each criterion is equally weighted and has an emphasis on audience.

Comprehension and content

  • Presentation provided clear background and significance to the research question
  • Presentation clearly described the research strategy/design and the results/findings of the research
  • Presentation clearly described the conclusions, outcomes and impact of the research

Engagement and communication

  • The oration was delivered clearly, and the language was appropriate for a non-specialist audience
  • The PowerPoint slide was well-defined and enhanced the presentation
  • The presenter conveyed enthusiasm for their research and captured and maintained the audience’s attention
Preliminary Round Prizes
First Place Second Place
Doctoral Candidate Group $100 $50
Graduate Student Group $100 $50
3MT Finals Prizes
First Place Second Place
Doctoral Candidate Group $1000 $500
Graduate Student Group $1000 $500

The CURF-3MT People's Choice Award ($250) will be awarded to a participant from either the Graduate or Doctoral Candidate group

To enroll for the preliminary rounds, please join our Canvas page and use the link within for registration.

Deadline for preliminary round registration is Sep 29, 2023.

All finalists are eligible for a 3MT Bootcamp session held by GRAD360° on Sunday, Oct 15, 2023. The bootcamp will provide professional level training for 3MT slide design and public speaking.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.
Contact Info:
Virginia Clark, Director of RI, or Arohi Singhai, Deputy Director of RI


Clemson University 3MT Competition Previous Winners

2022 - 2023 WINNERS OF 3MT

PhD Candidate Category
  1. Charini Maladeniya | Chemistry
  2. Yasir Mahmood | Mechanical Engineering

 Charini MaladeniyaYasir Mahmood

Graduate Student Category
  1. Rose Marie Somers | Agricultural Sciences
  2. Mandeep Tayal | Plant and Environmental Sciences

Rose Marie SomersMandeep Tayal

CURF - 3MT People's Choice Award
  1. Kenzie Hurley | Psychology

Kenzie Hurley


2021 - 2022 WINNERS OF 3MT

  1. Tessa Gagne | Food, Nutrition, and Packaging Sciences
  2. Rose Marie Somers | Food, Nutrition, and Packaging Sciences
  3. Sarah Donaher | Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences
People's Choice Award
  • Yinlin Dai | College of Business


2020 - 2021 WINNERS OF 3MT

PhD Candidate Competition
  1. Brennan Ferguson | Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences
  2. Moazzam Nazir | Electrical Engineering
PhD Student and Masters Student Competition
  1. Amber Stone | Animal and Veterinary Science
  2. Emma Chiappetta | Teaching and Learning


2019 - 2020 WINNERS OF 3MT

PhD Candidate Competition
  1. Nicholas Gregorich | Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  2. Roxana Jafarifiroozabad | Planning, Design, and Built Environment
PhD Student and Masters Student Competition
  1. Vishal Thomas | Bioengineering
  2. Joel Hamilton | Food, Nutrition, and Packaging Sciences


2018 - 2019 WINNERS OF 3MT

PhD Candidate Competition
  1. James Foster | Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  2. Vijay Sreedhara | Mechanical Engineering
  3. Shubhamkar Kulkarni | Mechanical Engineering
PhD Student and Masters Student Competition
  1. Joshua Osuofa | Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  2. Roxana Jafarifiroozabadi | Planning, Design, and Built Environment
  3. James Sternberg | International Center for Automotive Research


2017 - 2018 WINNERS OF 3MT

PhD Candidate Competition
  1. Matthew Flege | International Family and Community Studies
  2. Madeline Dowling | Plant and Environmental Sciences
  3. Unaiza Uzair | Chemistry
PhD Student and Masters Student Competition
  1. Zolian Zoong Lwe | Plant and Environmental Sciences
  2. Jaime Idarraga | Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  3. Rutali Joshi | Healthcare Architecture


2016 - 2017 WINNERS OF 3MT

  1. Guneet Bedi | Electrical Engineering
  2. Shakira Hobbs | Electrical Engineering
  3. Lauren Garcia Chance | Environmental Toxicology


2015 - 2016 WINNERS OF 3MT

  1. Leah Kitashima | Economics
    Qi Zhou | Plant & Environmental Sciences
  2. Adam Klett | Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
    Roque Gochez | Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
    Unaiza Uzair | Chemistry


2014 - 2015 WINNERS OF 3MT

  1. Nathan Redding | Plant and Environmental Sciences
    Kellie Walters | Parks, Recreation & Tourism Mgt
  2. Vipul Pai Raikar | Bioengineering
    Francesca Stubbins | Entomology


2013 - 2014 WINNERS OF 3MT

  1. Ashlee Tietje | Biological Sciences
    Namrata Sengupta | Environmental Toxicology
  2. Hobey Tam | Bioengineering
    Julian Velez-Guillen | Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
2023 3MT flyer