Skip to content
COVID-19 Updates and Resources

English

Faculty and Staff Directory

Chair

Stockton, William

Stockton, William

Professor and Chair
Renaissance Literature and Queer Theory
Email: wstockt@clemson.edu
Office: 802 Strode


Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Ashton, Susanna

Ashton, Susanna

Professor
N. American Narratives of Slavery & Freedom, Authorship, the Novel
Email: sashton@clemson.edu
Office: 611 Strode


Blakesley, David

Blakesley, David

Professor and Campbell Chair in Technical Communication; Fellow, Rhetoric Society of America
Rhetoric of Film and Digital Media, Production-related Practices
Email: dblakes@clemson.edu
Office: 616 Strode
Phone: (765)-409-2649


Bose, Maria

Bose, Maria

Assistant Professor
contemporary film and media; cultural materialism; cultural politics
Email: mbose@clemson.edu
Office: 809 Strode


Brown, Nic

Brown, Nic

Associate Professor
Email: ncbrown@clemson.edu
Office: 315 Strode


Bushnell, Cameron Fae

Bushnell, Cameron Fae

Associate Professor, 20th-Century Anglophone Postcolonial Literature

Director, Pearce Center for Professional Communication


Interdisciplinary Studies
Email: cbushne@clemson.edu
Office: 707 Strode


Coombs, David

Coombs, David

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Email: dcoombs@clemson.edu
Office: 813 Strode


Eatman, Megan

Eatman, Megan

Associate Professor, Director of First-Year Composition
Email: meeatma@clemson.edu
Office: 806 Strode


Faridi, Maziyar

Faridi, Maziyar

Assistant Professor
Global Modernism, Film Studies, Critical Theory, Poetry, Middle East and North Africa
Email: mfaridi@clemson.edu
Office: 610 Strode


Field, Jonathan Beecher

Field, Jonathan Beecher

Associate Professor, American literature
17th c. American Lit, Settler Colonialism, Puritanism, Disability
Email: jbfield@clemson.edu
Office: 808 Strode


Frith, Jordan

Frith, Jordan

Pearce Professor of Professional Communication
mobile media and infrastructure, histories of technology
Email: jfrith@clemson.edu
Office: 602


Goss, Erin M.

Goss, Erin M.

Associate Professor, British literature; Associate Chair
Email: egoss@clemson.edu
Office: 810 Strode


Hankins, Gabriel

Hankins, Gabriel

Associate Professor, Digital Humanities; Director of Graduate Studies
Modernism, Digital Humanities, Correspondence, and Visualization
Email: ghankin@clemson.edu
Office: 609 Strode


Haynes, Cynthia Ann

Haynes, Cynthia Ann

Professor/ Director of Rhetorics, Communication, and Information Design
Email: texcyn@clemson.edu
Office: 256E Sirrine Hall
Phone: (864) 656-6411


Hislop, Maya

Hislop, Maya

Assistant Professor
20th and 21st century American and African American Literature
Email: mhislop@clemson.edu
Office: 811 Strode


Holmevik, Jan Rune

Holmevik, Jan Rune

Associate Professor, professional communication and rhetoric
Digital Publishing and Media Production, Transmedia Storytelling
Email: jholmev@clemson.edu
Office: 2101 Barre Hall


Hooley, Matt

Hooley, Matt

Assistant Professor
Environmental Humanities, Native Studies, US Colonialism Studies
Email: mhooley@clemson.edu
Office: 317 Strode


Howard, Tharon

Howard, Tharon

Professor, professional communication and rhetoric
Digital Publishing and Media Production
Email: tharon@clemson.edu
Office: 617 Strode
Phone: (864) 656-3488


Hunter, Walt

Hunter, Walt

Associate Professor of World Literature
Contemporary Poetry and Poetics, Global Studies
Email: hunter1@clemson.edu
Office: 803 Strode


Lanham, J. Drew

Lanham, J. Drew

Affiliate Faculty, Alumni Distinguished Professor of Wildlife Ecology, Master Teacher, and Certified Wildlife Biologist
Email: lanham@clemson.edu
Office: 115 Lehotsky Hall
Phone: 864-656-7294


LeMahieu, Michael

LeMahieu, Michael

Associate Professor
20th/21st Cent American Lit. Civil War Memory. Philosophy of Language.
Email: mlemahi@clemson.edu
Office: 307 Strode


Manganelli, Kimberly Snyder

Manganelli, Kimberly Snyder

Associate Professor, 19th-century British and American literature
Transatlantic Literature and Culture, Race and Ethnicity
Email: kmangan@clemson.edu
Office: 807 Strode
Phone: (864) 656-5408


Mastroianni, Dominic

Mastroianni, Dominic

Associate Professor, American literature
19th-Century US Literature, Transcendentalism, History of Philosophy
Email: dbm@clemson.edu
Office: 608 Strode


McGrath, Brian

McGrath, Brian

Associate Professor, British literature and literary theory
Romanticism, Poetry and Poetics, Aesthetic and Literary Theory
Email: mcgrath@clemson.edu
Office: 607 Strode
Phone: (864) 656-3151


Morris, Keith

Morris, Keith

Professor, creative writing
Fiction Writing, Contemporary Literature, Literary Editing
Email: km@clemson.edu
Office: 314 Strode


Morrissey, Lee

Morrissey, Lee

Professor and Alumni Distinguished Professor

Founding Director,
John Milton, Early Modern English Literature, Ireland
Email: lmorris@clemson.edu
Office: 316 Strode
Phone: (864) 656-3151


Mullaney, Clare

Mullaney, Clare

Assistant Professor, Disability Rhetorics
Email: cmullaney@clemson.edu
Office: 605 Strode


Naimou, Angela

Naimou, Angela

Associate Professor
Global Studies, Cultures of the Americas and the Middle East
Email: anaimou@clemson.edu
Office: 709 Strode


Olsen, Taimi

Olsen, Taimi

Affiliate Faculty; Director of Office of Teaching Effectiveness and Innovation
American Modernism; Educational Development
Email: taimio@clemson.edu
Office: 201 Watt Family Innovation Center


Rivlin, Elizabeth

Rivlin, Elizabeth

Associate Professor, Shakespeare and Early Modern British Literature
Early Modern British lit; Shakespeare, adaptations, & cultural history
Email: rivlin@clemson.edu
Office: 804 Strode


Skrodzka, Aga

Skrodzka, Aga

Associate Professor, Film and Media Studies
Film Theory, Transnational and Post-Socialist Cinemas
Email: askrodz@clemson.edu
Office: 712 Strode
Phone: 864-656-3151


Smith, Michelle

Smith, Michelle

Assistant Professor
Feminist Rhetorics, Rhetorical Theory
Email: mcsmth@clemson.edu
Office: 606 Strode


Thomas, Rhondda Robinson

Thomas, Rhondda Robinson

Calhoun Lemon Professor of Literature
18th & 19th Century African American & American Literature
Email: rhonddt@clemson.edu
Office: 812 Strode


Lecturers

Ayers Lawson, April

Ayers Lawson, April

Lecturer
Email: aalawso@clemson.edu
Office: 516 Strode


Beck, Katalin

Beck, Katalin

Senior Lecturer
Rhetoric of Global Virtual Collaboration and Online Education
Email: kbeck@clemson.edu
Office: 604 Strode


Carter, Sarah E.S.

Carter, Sarah E.S.

Lecturer
Primary Research; First-Year Writing; Military Studies; General Education; Literature
Email: scarte6@clemson.edu
Office: 502 Strode


Chwala, Gregory Luke

Chwala, Gregory Luke

Lecturer
19th Century British Lit, Gothic Studies, LGBTQ Literature
Email: gchwala@clemson.edu
Office: 517 Strode


Citro, Daniel

Citro, Daniel

Senior Lecturer
Modernisms, Forms/Genres
Email: dcitro@clemson.edu
Office: 311 Strode


Clarey, Chelsea

Clarey, Chelsea

Lecturer
19th Century Transatlantic Literature; Domesticity
Email: cclarey@clemson.edu
Office: 507 Strode


Cooper, Sarah

Cooper, Sarah

Senior Lecturer
Women's and Gender Studies within contemporary contexts
Email: scoope5@clemson.edu
Office: 511 Strode


Cunningham, Will

Cunningham, Will

Lecturer
Email: wcunnin@clemson.edu
Office: 613 Strode


Dugan, Melissa

Dugan, Melissa

Senior Lecturer
Creative Writing, American Literature, Storytelling
Email: mmdugan@clemson.edu
Office: 502 Strode


Edwards, Stevie

Edwards, Stevie

Lecturer
Email: sedwar7@clemson.edu
Office: 516 Strode


Fisk, Ashley S

Fisk, Ashley S

Senior Lecturer
Technical and Business Communication and Service Learning
Email: cowden2@clemson.edu
Office: 514 Strode


Foltz, David Charles

Foltz, David Charles

Senior Lecturer
System & Resistance in Literature, Philosophy, American Mysticism
Email: davidf@clemson.edu
Office: 507 Strode


Forsberg, Jennifer

Forsberg, Jennifer

Senior Lecturer
20th/21st Cent. American Lit & Culture, Gender, Working-Class Studies
Email: jforsbe@clemson.edu
Office: 502 Strode


Ghita, Lucian

Ghita, Lucian

Senior Lecturer
Shakespeare, Renaissance and Modern Drama, Film Adaptation, World Lit
Email: lghita@clemson.edu
Office: 615 Strode


Godwin, Hannah

Godwin, Hannah

Lecturer
Modernist Literature and Culture; Childhood Studies; Sexuality Studies
Email: hgodwin@clemson.edu
Office: 507 Strode


Green, La'Cresha

Green, La'Cresha

Senior Lecturer
Email: lacresg@clemson.edu
Office: 502 Strode


Johnson, Tareva

Johnson, Tareva

Lecturer
20th and 21st Century African American Literature and Culture
Email: tarevaj@clemson.edu
Office: 517 Strode


Kettnich, Karen

Kettnich, Karen

Lecturer
Email: kkettni@clemson.edu
Office: 511 Strode


MacAlystre, Megan Noel

MacAlystre, Megan Noel

Senior Lecturer
Children’s Literature, Neo-Victorian Adaptations, and Harry Potter
Email: mmacaly@clemson.edu
Office: 311 Strode


Makala, Melissa

Makala, Melissa

Lecturer
19/20th Century British Lit, Women's Writing, Gothic
Office: 604 Strode


Monaghan, Amy N

Monaghan, Amy N

Senior Lecturer
Sound and Music Studies, Art House/Indie Cinema
Email: amonagh@clemson.edu
Office: 506 Strode


Murdock, Chelsea

Murdock, Chelsea

Director of the Writing Lab
Email: cjmurdo@clemson.edu
Office: 307 ASC


Nalley, Kathleen

Nalley, Kathleen

Senior Lecturer
Holocaust Literature, Dystopias, Social Justice Poetry
Email: snalley@clemson.edu
Office: 511 Strode


Nestor, Mary

Nestor, Mary

Lecturer
British Romanticism, Adaptation Studies, Cultural Memory Theory
Email: mcnesto@clemson.edu
Office: 708 Strode


Paxton-Wilson, Nancy

Paxton-Wilson, Nancy

Lecturer
Email: npaxton@clemson.edu
Office: 302 Strode


Pierce, Ingrid

Pierce, Ingrid

Lecturer
Medieval British Literature, Sound and Hearing, History of the senses
Email: ipierce@clemson.edu
Office: 506 Strode


Pulley, Mike

Pulley, Mike

Senior Lecturer
Journalism, Science Writing, and Contemporary Poetry
Email: wpulley@clemson.edu
Office: 302 Strode


Pursley III, John Logan

Pursley III, John Logan

Senior Lecturer
Creative Writing, Publishing, 20th & 21st Century Literature
Email: pursle3@clemson.edu
Office: 302 Strode


Randall, Philip D

Randall, Philip D

Senior Lecturer
Client-based projects. Science writing
Email: randal3@clemson.edu
Office: 302 Strode


Rogers, Jamie

Rogers, Jamie

Lecturer
Black film and literature, feminist studies and social justice theory
Email: jar6@clemson.edu
Office: 615 Strode


Smith, John

Smith, John

Lecturer, Interim Director of World Cinema
Film Theory, Genre, Adaptation Studies
Email: johnsm@clemson.edu
Office: 256D Sirrine Hall
Phone: 864-656-1532


Stansell, Elizabeth Anderson

Stansell, Elizabeth Anderson

Senior Lecturer
Contemporary Fiction, Gender Studies, Science/Technology in Society
Email: eander3@clemson.edu
Office: 514 Strode


Swords, Allen N.

Swords, Allen N.

Senior Lecturer
Sequential art, Holocaust Lit & Art, Vietnam War & Star Wars mythos
Email: swords@clemson.edu
Office: 516 Strode


Troy, Eddy

Troy, Eddy

Lecturer
Film-philosophy, Global francophone cinema
Email: etroy@clemson.edu
Office: 613 Strode


Tuite, Kenneth

Tuite, Kenneth

Lecturer
Ancient Greek & Roman Historiography (Herodotus)
Email: ktuite@clemson.edu
Office: 310 Daniel


Wakefield, Jennie

Wakefield, Jennie

Lecturer
Creative Process, Interdisciplinary Studies
Email: jwakefi@clemson.edu
Office: 708 Strode


Watt, Caitlin

Watt, Caitlin

Lecturer
Medieval Romance, Literary Character, Classical Reception
Email: cgwatt@clemson.edu
Office: 507 Strode


Williams, Heather

Williams, Heather

Lecturer
Contemporary Postcolonial & World Literature; Spatial Literary Studies
Email: hpwilli@clemson.edu
Office: 517 Strode Tower


Staff

Boyter, Emily

Boyter, Emily

Administrative Coordinator
Email: eboyter@clemson.edu
Office: 801 Strode Tower
Phone: 864-656-3151


Chastain, Susan

Chastain, Susan

Fiscal Analyst
Email: schasta@clemson.edu
Office: 814 Strode
Phone: 864-656-5381


Crist-Wagner, Keri

Crist-Wagner, Keri

Student Services Program Coordinator
Email: kcristw@clemson.edu
Office: 805 Strode Tower
Phone: 656-3152


Justice, Angie

Justice, Angie

Administrative Assistant, Campbell Chair
Email: ajstc@clemson.edu
Office: Strode 616
Phone: 864-656-1520


Department of English
Department of English | 801 Strode Tower, Clemson, SC 29634