Meet the Dean

Keith L. Belli (bell′-eye) became Dean of Clemson University’s College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences (CAFLS) Sept. 1, 2018.

Under CAFLS’ new administrative structure, Belli serves as the chief academic and administrative officer and associate vice president for Clemson Public Service and Agriculture (PSA), where he collaborates with Vice-President of PSA George Askew to advance the interests of both complimentary units.

As dean, Belli plays a critical role in implementing Clemson’s land-grant mission by working with CAFLS faculty and staff to build upon the college mission of creating future leaders who will feed a growing population, develop renewable sources of energy, ensure a safe sustainably packaged food supply and maintain a healthy environment.

Before becoming Dean of CAFLS, Belli was head of the University of Tennessee’s Department of Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries.

During his tenure at the University of Tennessee, Belli oversaw the successful accreditation of three forestry program concentrations under the Society of American Foresters forestry standard. The society also accredited a concentration in the wildlife and fisheries program under its new Natural Resource and Ecosystem Management standard, making it the only wildlife program in the nation with an accredited concentration. The department also reached 10-year enrollment highs and increased the number of tenure-track faculty positions. In addition to his administrative duties, Belli also is a forestry professor.

Prior to joining the University of Tennessee in 2007, Belli worked at Mississippi State University for 18 years, transitioning from professor to the associate dean of the College of Forest Resources, associate director of the Forest and Wildlife Research Center and interim head of the forest products department.

Belli holds a Bachelor of Science in forest science from Pennsylvania State University, Master of Science in silviculture from Michigan State University and a Doctor of Philosophy in forest biometrics from the University of Minnesota, all three land-grant institutions.