Skip to Main Content


College of Education Departments

College of Education

Through its undergraduate and graduate programs in three departments, the College of Education trains teachers, counselors and leaders for P-12 schools; prepares counselors for community practice; trains student affairs professionals, administrators and faculty for higher education; and prepares training and development specialists for business and industry.

The three departments are as follows:

Department of Education and Human Development

  • Clinical Mental Health Counseling
  • Educational Foundations
  • Learning Sciences
  • Literacy
  • School Counseling
  • Special Education

Department of Educational and Organizational Leadership Development

  • Athletic Leadership
  • Educational Leadership
  • Human Resource Development
  • Student Affairs

Department of Teaching and Learning

  • Curriculum And Instruction
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Elementary Education
  • Middle Level Education
  • Secondary Education

All three departments are motivated by our focus on promoting the growth, education and development of all individuals, with emphasis on underperforming schools and underserved communities across the state and nation, and to be a transformative leader in systemically improving education, beginning at birth.